We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2005

The Hillgrove, once a nice hotel in Monaghan - has seen better days. Very little seems to have been invested in it for quite some time.

Our room was very dated with a grubby bathroom in need of refurbishment. The bed throw was stained and to add insult to injury the room was freezing cold in the morning. I called reception to see if there was something wrong with the radiator in the room - was told it would be checked out - never heard back - upon check out we were told that the heating was on a timer!!! - hardly what you'd expect from a hotel?

After our dinner in the town, we returned to relax in the hotel - only to be greeted with vomit at the front door to the hotel - over indulgence at the wedding being held there. Not really the hotels fault but at the main entrance to the hotel things like that should be picked up immediately.

Breakfast was mediocre - had to serve yourself - in a dated dusty room - with staff in very dirty uniforms.

Overall the hotel is dirty, dated, with indifferent, untrained staff - an experience never to be repeated.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 May 2005

In response to this very unfair comment about the Hillgrove Hotel, I would like to address the comments made. All of our bedrooms and en-suites have recently been extensively refurbished. The Restaurant is elegant, clean and spacious. The Hillgrove Hotel is modern, bright, luxurious and friendly, with excellent service and facilities. Why not come and see for yourself or visit our website on (commercial URL). Our website contains up-to-date photographs of the entire property. Any queries, please contact Audri Herron on (phone number) The Hillgrove Hotel - Majestically Magical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,519 - 1,525 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Debsterdoobydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ana belen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xto31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank diego74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ovotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
231 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,412 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
24 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £95 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing