We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A beautiful hotel in well kept grounds. The hotel looks great, the leisure centre has fantastic facilities complimented by the helpful staff. Very close to town and all amentities, it was a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mags D,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you took the time to write such a lovely review. Yes the leisure club really is fantastic and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. I have passed your comments to our General Manager and Leisure Club Manager and team and they are delighted.

Yes our location is ideal, on the outskirts of Monaghan town. The team are delighted with your comments and again we thank you for such a kind review.

Hopefully we will welcome you back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon,

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner

Sales & Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Overall very good stay until breakfast the next morning when the lady had a very bad attitude. Everything seemed to be a problem. From getting a jug of water or fresh toast that wasnt cold when the breakfast came out. they had breakfast away before 10.30 when another family arrived down and they didn't avail of the bteakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear ViHoliday,

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you were so happy with your stay. Thank you for your feedback on your breakfast, we will ensure this is rectified. We thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella


Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel & Leisure Club Monaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly this hotel has a nightclub attached which opens at midnight so if you like people shouting all night and noise then this is the place for you. Also when we stayed was a wedding function with loud music and shouting and singing until 3am which made it impossible to sleep. Rooms are very dated and musty with mouldy bathrooms. Not a good experience, save your money and book elsewhere unless you wanna party all night long whether you want to or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellor197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Mellor197,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give feedback.

We are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your stay. The night club is only open on selected dates throughout the year and is not open on a weekly basis, however we sincerely apologise that this kept you awake.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager who will be delighted to discuss this with you.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Majella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Four Seasons in Monaghan for an event. The event itself was run very well, the service was prompt and friendly and the food tasty and plentiful. It was the condition of the common areas and particularly the accommodation that I was really unhappy about. The room which I was allocated was dingy at best, stained carpet, dirty windows, dusty lamps, stained signage and scorch marks on the bedsheets. I attempted to plug one of the lamps in the room in only to find that it had no plug. I found a used nail file in dusty and worn-looking Guest Information booklet. I have included pictures of the above with this review. The worst part was unfortunately the terrible smell in the room, akin to smelly feet; I can only imagine when the carpet was last cleaned. We had to leave the windows open as a result, something I wasn't particularly happy about as the room was on the ground floor and so my belongings were particularly vulnerable. The room rate was €130, a price I would consider very high for the poor quality of the accommodation. I noticed worn and grubby carpets in the common areas along with a layer of dust on many of the decorations around the hotel. I certainly wouldn't stay here again and I would advise anyone against staying. They have a captive market for their events and it would seem that as a result they feel the effort does not have to go into keeping the place clean.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CQA9813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear CQA9813,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the event you attended and that you felt it was run well and that you were happy with the food and service.

However we are disappointed to receive your other comments and we have already addressed many of the areas you mentioned with our house-keeping and maintenance departments. We thank you for bringing these to our attention. If you wish to discuss this matter further please contact our hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager. Thank you again for your review.

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
PH: 00353 4781888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Was at a family wedding recently at the four seasons , have to say food was very good , steak on the menu was cooked perfectly ! They took temperatures on how you would like the steak cooked also , the arrival reception with tea and scones were fantastic , and having tea served in the fancy tea bone china was a nice treat !
As I'm in the food business myself I would highly recommend this hotel for food , although the hotel is a bit dated nevertheless it has a certain charm! Keep up the good work chef!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Twofriedeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

It is always so nice to receive a great review. We are delighted you were so pleased with the quality of food. Yes the Vintage Chic reception on arrival is very popular and we agree, the china makes a cup of tea a little more special!!

Thank you most sincerely for saying you would recommend this hotel for food , our Head Chef and team will be delighted.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in the Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan on a Thursday night. I had a lovely time, the hotel itself is slightly dated but this would not put me off it was immaculately clean, Rooms well maintained, my bathroom had no bath but shower was good. Leisure club was nice sized pool for a good swim but child pool very small. Outside hot tub a fabulous feature. plenty of hair dryers in changing rooms. My best part by far was the food we had lunch, dinner and breakfast the following morning. My friend is a fussy eater and her meals when ordering but this was no problem the staff accommodated her. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi Karen M,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much.

Thank you for mentioning how immaculately clean our hotel is and that the rooms were well maintained. Yes the Leisure club has a fabulous pool and the hot tub is very popular, we are delighted you were happy with these.

Your comments regarding the delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner are much appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing superb food and service. Our Head Chef Tina and team will be delighted.

I will ensure to pass your kind comments to the team. We look forward to hopefully welcoming your back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella


Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a one night visit here (business trip). Great welcome at the reception desk. Room was lovely and comfortable and breakast the following morning was delicious. I will definitely visit again and explore this side of the country and would recommend the Four Seasons as a base, just 15 minute walk to centre of the town (a very friendly town)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mystery09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi Mystery09,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. It is always lovely to hear positive feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed a warm welcome at the reception desk and that you were happy with your bedroom and that your breakfast was delicious. I will ensure to pass your kind comments onto the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.7 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,541 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
21.7 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club

Address: Coolshanagh, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £62 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel And Leisure Club
Four Seasons Monaghan
Monaghan Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing