We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best of places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westenra Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the best of places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have visited here twice now the first for a Sunday Calvary which was the worst food I've ever tasted the warm ceaser salad was cold the steak was solid and the waitress shouted at us across the room for our drink order which was very un professional . Our second visit was a Saturday night to the diamond restaurant which there was a birthday dinner on so service to other tables were slower can't fault the starter it was lovely and a meal on its own , had sirloin for main and asked med/well but when I got it is was rear after getting them to take it back to cook it some more I received it back very well done !! Side orders also came out a good ten minutes after the mains . All in all from all the good reviews I've heard and read about it it just hasn't lived up to it at all and deffo won't be giving the place a third chance

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westenra A, General Manager at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Katrina G,

In response to your comments made in relation to the Westenra Arms Hotel, I wish to express the utter disappointment that I feel. You have visited us on two separate occasions and we seem to have failed to meet your expectations on the deliverance of quality food.

We pride ourselves as being one of the best eatery's in Monaghan Town & also the county, proven by our returning customers.

On both occasions you have stated your dissatisfaction about the steak. Our steak is what we are renowned for, as we select only the best of Irish Hereford Beef. On the very rare occasion that the steak is not cooked to your liking, we will gladly return it & replace it with new meat. However, we cannot do this, if we are not made known at the time that you are not happy, which clearly did not happen in the first instance.

I can only apologise on behalf of the kitchen for overcooking your sirloin the second time round. Therefore, I would like to ask you back to the Westenra to enjoy a complimentary meal for two in the Diamond Restaurant & I can assure you, you most certainly will not be disappointed & will hopefully return again!

I look forward to hearing from you again.
Regards,
Frank McEnaney
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    69
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
48
62
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belleek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

stayed at the hotel over the weekend with 3 fellow golfers staff very friendly and attentive had our food in the bar the steaks were excellent and cooked to perfection there was a tradional group playing lovely music very good breakfast plenty of fruit and lovely cooked ulster fry. the only negative point we had was the smokers were standing in the door way and the smell of smoke was coming into the bar not nice any more, management please take note.

Room Tip: rooms to back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Tried a Tuesday night ,Bar busy and good atmosphere.We usually try here at the weekends so this was a first.Marie Colm and and the gang were busy BUT made time to talk. I had a steak and the Good lady had a chicken salad.All the sides were superb. A very good, very enjoyable meal,will go mid week again.thanks

Room Tip: A good place to go for a good,filling meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westenra A, General Manager at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Frank M,

Thankyou so very much for your 5star review. I feel overwhelmed when the Westenra Arms Hotel receives such positive commentary, it means my hard work is paying off!

Thanks again.
Frank McEnaney
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Myself and my boyfriend go here alot for bar food and it is always spot on. Its a great place to have a bite to eat in a relaxing environment and the prices aren't bad either. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice casual night out .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire7034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniskillen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were told on booking accommodation for 1 night at the weekend that the last available room was basic and so right the receptionist was.
The room was about the size of a normal bathroom and you can guess what size the bathroom was. The paint on the ceiling above the shower was peeling off and the entire room would need a serious makeover.
Sleep was very limited due to the outside noise of patrons leaving the disco and then when we eventually fell asleep the noise of the road sweepers once again in the early hours of Sunday morning put paid to that.
At a price of 110.00 euros for the 'box room' we would have expected a better standard and have decided that if we were to return we would make the point of not having the 'basic' room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowlerEnniskillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

A group of 8 of us traveled to Monaghan to attend a friends' wedding. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated wonderfully. We were impressed by the beauty of the reception, dining and bar area. The rooms are lovely, clean and very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing.
The food is awesome!!!! The location of the hotel could not be better it is right in the center of everything. Looking forward to our next trip already.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pghrdhdirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Not only was I insulted by the security staff, my companions were abused and rejected from gaining entry because one had the audacity to wear trainers (with expensive jeans and a smart short-sleeved shirt)! what jar-heads. My God! If he were in Egypt he would most likely have been stoned for such an insult against humanity!! We even overheard them deciding who in the queue for the night club were "fit"!! Glad to see Ireland going so well that hotels can choose not to accept money from people who are keen to spend it! Will make sure none of my family or friends ever spend a penny in this establishment!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank PatinSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westenra A, Owner at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear PatinSyd,

I'm sorry to hear of your dismay, but I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware that the accusations that you have made against us are not in relation to the Westenra Arms Hotel. I welcome all comments both positive and negative but as you should be aware, this Trip Advisor site is relating to the Hotel & Restaurant only.
Regards,
Management @ the Westenra Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
13.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westenra Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westenra Arms Hotel

Property: Westenra Arms Hotel
Address: The Diamond, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westenra Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Westenra Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing