We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little place to stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westenra Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice little place to stop!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Decent, clean room with comfortable bed, nice staff and pretty good food to boot! Very central location in a lovely little town. I asked reception to dry clean something for me and they took it straight down and brought it back in no time at all - very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    69
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
48
64
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our party of five had a wonderful evening last night at the restaurant in the Westenra. Wow! Food was amazing, great atmosphere and loved the grand decor. Service was exceptional and desserts were gorgeous. Lots of food ( side portions were too large for us so seemed a bit of a waste ). But obviously larger appetites would appreciate this. Overall 5 stars !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shauna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had a very pleasent stay at this hotel. I was travelling for work and I stayed there for one night. Room was very comfortable with a very nice bed and large bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent and staff very professioanal and friendly.
Location is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

So me and my mother went in here for a bite to eat for Mothers day, when we first went in we were seated and had to wait a good fifteen minutes for our order to be taken. It took another ten minutes for the drinks to arrive and there was a mistake with the order. We then waited what seemed an age for the food to come, in the meantime people who came in after us were being served their food. After a hour wait we decided to ask the waitress Marie where our food was and she just shrugged her shoulders and said its coming. No apology, my mother and I had enough of it and left and went to the Hillgrove Hotel were we were served our food in 15 mins. Was absolutely shocked by this experience and how rude the staff were. Certainly wont be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kella223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Best spot in monaghan for food.. You'll not leave here hungry or disappointed! Just in centre of the town which is also brilliant.. Its clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful..highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashjohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As I had driven by here a few times while visiting monaghan I decided to give this hotel a try. I was pleasantly surprised. There was a real buzz about the place from the moment I went in. The bar was packed with diners and there is an extensive menu. Food was excellent and the staff were very good. Room not the biggest but comfortable all the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carraiglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have used the westenra for lots of family occasions for over 30 years, and have never had anything other than first class service. we had a small function on January 3rd for my mum-in-laws birthday, it was held in the glaslough suite upstairs and there were 36 people. the food was really gorgeous and piping hot, Maura was especially efficient and couldn't do enough for us.she made a special effort to get anything extra we asked for and really looked after the children. after the meal several of us went down to the bar and spent a very enjoyable couple of hours listening to the band and enjoying the atmosphere. once again well done to the westenra and the lovely Maura.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolofiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,466 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
209 reviews
14.5 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westenra Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westenra Arms Hotel

Property: Westenra Arms Hotel
Address: The Diamond, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westenra Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westenra Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing