We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westenra Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was cosy and comfortable. We ate in the hotel bar and it was very reasonable. The breakfast was freshly cooked if you wanted the full Irish, with fruit, cereals and croissants as alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyDay4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    69
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
48
63
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Overall an excellent hotel marred only by a broken light in the bedroom (reported 3 times) and an ancient CRT television in the bedroom (though we weren't there to watch TV). All the staff we were in contact with were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have visited this hotel on numerous sundays when I can't be bothered cooking. It has a great carvery with a good standard of good wholesome food. The staff aree friendly and attentive. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the town so if you fancy doing a bit of shopping and dropping in for a quick bite to eat or a drink its the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself and 30 Dublin hen's arrived here for the weekend. The hotel was fantastic, the staff were so nice and couldn't have been more helpful with all our requests. Would highly recommend it for a hens, 2 lively bars and a nite-club all on the complex so you wouldn't need to leave. Food was gorgeous but the staff def made the weekend-fantastic. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Decent, clean room with comfortable bed, nice staff and pretty good food to boot! Very central location in a lovely little town. I asked reception to dry clean something for me and they took it straight down and brought it back in no time at all - very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our party of five had a wonderful evening last night at the restaurant in the Westenra. Wow! Food was amazing, great atmosphere and loved the grand decor. Service was exceptional and desserts were gorgeous. Lots of food ( side portions were too large for us so seemed a bit of a waste ). But obviously larger appetites would appreciate this. Overall 5 stars !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shauna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had a very pleasent stay at this hotel. I was travelling for work and I stayed there for one night. Room was very comfortable with a very nice bed and large bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent and staff very professioanal and friendly.
Location is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,448 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
206 reviews
13.8 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westenra Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westenra Arms Hotel

Property: Westenra Arms Hotel
Address: The Diamond, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westenra Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Westenra Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing