We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location - Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westenra Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a night in this hotel in August. We felt welcome from the first moment. The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was large and very comfortable.
The location of the hotel was great, the town was nice to stroll around in the early evening. We had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel, €27.50 for a four course dinner with a glass of wine, you can't beat that! The menu was varied and the food was very good.
The only downside was the hotel bar, the glasses were not clean, it was the afternoon and not busy, but the waitress and bar staff were really not interested in their customers. We felt in the way.
But this would not stop me from recommended the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mgtmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myself and my fiance have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and eqch time we've been thoroughly impressed. The hotel staff are very friendly and happy to share their recommendations. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The most impressive aspect of this hotel is the quality of its food. We've had several family occasions here and the food has qlways been magnificant,both in quality and quantity. We are staying here again in October and are really looking forward to our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Six of us travelled over from Glasgow for a stag weekend to meet up with others. The hotel staff looked after us and nothing was a bother. Rooms were great, the showers are like water cannons though so be careful, although I loved them, breakfast was fantastic and if you get the chance have the carvery lunch. Thank you once again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kayeff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A charming little hotel right in the centre of an equally charming little town.
Situated in 'The Diamond' area of Monaghan, the location is superb. The hotel's facilities; bar, restaurant & nightclub are all diverse & quite fabulous, if not a tad unexpected.
The rooms are a little on the basic side, but cosy & most importantly very clean. What the Westenra Arms lacks in luxury it compensates for fully with its exceedingly warm welcome. The staff are simply wonderful! Dare I say possibly unparalleled in my stays across Ireland. In fact, a few of the more upmarket hotels could take a leaf out of the Westenra's book when it comes to training staff!
Undoubtedly charming all round, but not a place for a luxury break. The food was not quite to my taste, however my two companions found no fault with it. The exceptional quality of the staff & the entertainment venues truly blew me away. The nightclub is quite a surprise, ultra modern next to the quaint, traditional facade of the hotel. They had a even had an brilliant Spanish DJ on the night we were in! I stayed here with a few work mates & we had a wonderful time, pleasantly surprised, charmed & entertained. I would without doubt recommend staying at this hotel, if just to revel in the nightlife alone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TAA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Myself and my partner had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant in the Westenra hotel, the diamond, Monaghan and all I can say is the food is just to die for, we have eaten here before and fine it one of the top eating places in the area, the salmon starter is gorgeous and the steaks are melt in the mouth, the desserts are lovely too the first night we were there we got like a strawberry pavalova dessert it was fab and my only disappointment was that it wasn't on when we dined there on Friday night but the sticky toffee pudding made up for it lol.... we usually go on a Friday night and at in the Diamond Restaurant, its relaxing and comfortable and the girl that's the waitress is welcoming and professional and efficient in her work, we love the place and always promise to return. plus Friday nights are great value for money too as they do an offer for a 4 course meal for 27.50pp definitely not to be missed and well worth every penny, we'll definitely be back again as regulars hopefully

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night at the Westenra Arms and very much enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and welcoming. We had a comfortable room and a good evening meal, which was served efficiently and cheerfully even though the restaurant was busy.

Everyone at the hotel contributed to making our short stay relaxed and enjoyable, and all at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was cosy and comfortable. We ate in the hotel bar and it was very reasonable. The breakfast was freshly cooked if you wanted the full Irish, with fruit, cereals and croissants as alternatives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyDay4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,521 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
219 reviews
14.5 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westenra Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westenra Arms Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £96 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westenra Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Westenra Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing