We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grennan's Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullamore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grennan's Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tullamore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Co Tyrone, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ever B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Unbelievable hostess, spotlessly clean, so comfortable and hearty breakfast. Would have no hesitation in going back. My husband, myself and 3 children stayed for 1 night as our daughter was entered into the javelin competition in Tullamore. Cant say enough positive things, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaMc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
18
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our little group of two adults and two young children recently stayed at Grennans and found it to be a gem of the highest quality.

We stayed in one of the three available self catering apartments, but it was really a big house rather than an apartment with everything we needed.

Our host Dierdre couldn't do enough for us, baking a struddle on our first evening and then showing up with warm home made scones on our second morning...fantastic!

Wonderful place, hosts & experience. Couldn't have asked for more and it's a place we'll definitely revisit with a larger group in the future.

Thanks To the Grennan Family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here this weekend for daughter attending Athletics competition in Tullamore. I chose it because it was No 1 on Tripadvisor and boy does it deserve to be! From the moment we arrived we were taken care of...the kettle was switched on when Deirdre saw us arrive so freshly boiled for a cuppa after a long journey...homemade buns and chocolate biscuits for the children...real milk in fridge - not those HORRIBLE UHT exploding sachet things! Extremely comfortable bed and pillows - and I am very fussy having had 3 lots of back surgery! Spotless Bathroom and hot shower! The Best Full Irish Breakfast I have ever had on a hot plate, really good coffee, lots of toast and wheaten bread and to top it all....a parcel of homemade warm from the oven scones and a flask of hot coffee to take with us! This place is a benchmark for B&Bs...the rest of you - time to up your game :) Loved loved loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

As a frequent business traveller staying away most weeks, this B & B rates with the best. Deirdre and Pat are fantastic hosts who constantly go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay, from excellent home cooking; breakfast, evening meal and home baked scones to guiding people to there next destination. The accommodation is very comfortable and peaceful in a lovely rural setting, a great place to unwind after work. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone, who is looking for a relaxing place to stay, whether on business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in the back houses as a large group for the third time and I can thoroughly recommend it. The space is so comfortable, beds better than mine at home with fresh lovely bedding and ensuite. Deirdre is so welcoming with cakes and fresh lovely scones but also left us to relax in our own space. A perfect family place to stay. We are hoping to stay in the smaller chalet next year as a smaller family group. I can thoroughly recommend it. I also recommend a visit to the grounds at Charleville castle on your trip, a magical place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkFieldworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Been here a couple of times, the owners hospitality always exceeds my expectations. Beautiful room, food, friendly and a bit of Craic . I enjoy the tranquility of the location,will be back again. Nothing is to much trouble for the owners

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I've just returned from a business related stay at Grennan's Country House. We rented a chalet which was very spacious, warm and clean with all bedrooms having an en-suite.
The hosts were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us including dropping over freshly baked scones every morning....Yum !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamore
4.0 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
3.7 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Temple Lodge & Spa
Temple Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Moate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sea Dew Guesthouse
Sea Dew Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Tullamore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gormagh B&B
Gormagh B&B
#2 of 12 in Tullamore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grennan's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grennan's Country House

Property: Grennan's Country House
Address: Aharney, Tullamore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grennan's Country House is a luxurious 4 star country guest house and self caterings set in the heart of Ireland, just 7-8 minutes north-west of Tullamore. Here you can relax and unwind in a totally stress-free environment in the countryside, surrounded by fields, birds singing and fresh, clean air.The highly acclaimed Esker Hills Golf Course is just a short walk up the road. Grennan's is located within easy reach of many of Ireland's great tourist attractions, yet rural enough to give you peace and relaxation after a hard days sight-seeing!Specially built in 2001, Grennan's Country House has 6 generous-sized guest bedrooms as well as a wheelchair accessible suite on the ground floor. There is a guest lounge off the main entrance hall and a large dining room allowing wonderful views of the countryside from your table. Prices start from just €35 including breakfast and some of our home cooking and baking which proves very popular with guests.If you prefer to "do it yourself", why not stay in one of our 3 self caterings located within the grounds of the house. We have two five bed self caterings, each capable of sleeping up to 14 people and a 2 bed self catering capable of sleeping up to 6 people. Each of them is fully equipped with all mod cons including an oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and free wi-fi, all of which allows the visitor that extra bit of independence from just €25 per person sharing ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing