We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really is a 5 star B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullamore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grennan's Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tullamore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This B&B is faultless, the house is splendid, the room we had was beautiful, the food and home baked scones are unbelievable, however, the jewel in the crown is Deirdre, a warm, welcoming host, who ensured we wanted for absolutely nothing.My wife and I were made to feel welcome and at home throughout our stay.This is Irish hospitality at it's best,
If you need a B&B in Offally make your way to Grennan's. My wife and I had a 2 night B&B stay at Grennan's Country House . On arrival we were greeted by Deirdre, the owner, who brought us into the sitting room, which was beautiful, and provided us with some very welcome tea and fresh coffee, with home baked caramel squares, mmmmm.
The breakfasts we had were delicious, with a choice of breakfast food available: fresh fruit, choice of cereals, juices, yogurts, home baked scones, and of course a Full Irish Breakfast. It really is a FULL Irish Breakfast.
"I'll be back"
,


.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was a really nice place we stumbled on when we had to make a change of plans last minute. Clean, welcoming, attractive. We were very, very pleased with everything. The breakfast was excellent, the hostess charming. Even Oscar and Bruno the dogs made sure we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the out buildings are very private and self sufficient, the rooms in the main house I am su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leonora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent there a week for children to go to a soccer summer camp, and we really feel like home! Home made bakery is súper! Family always try to help you! Cottage has everything you need( Washine machine , washer, dryer,..).Don't forget it is a farm not a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who recently stayed at this excellent B&B. Having travelled to every Province in the country this year, this was the spot that felt like home. Shortly after their arrival home they commissioned me to write a review as the traditional thank you card does not reach the same audience .
The welcome was second to none, with the hostess coming to meet them at their car. They were shown to their room given freshly baked scones and encouraged to help themselves to tea. The room was spacious, pristine and very comfortable. It is a beautiful country estate set in a tranquil area. The business is family run with hostesss's husband stopping at breakfast to greet the guests. Their son worked the tables efficiently and with the same attention to detail as his parents. The home-made food was plentiful and excellent. They were greeted like old friends treated like family and it was only 08-00am. So thank you to Deirdre and your family, we only hope that you will not booked out when they return next year. Regards John & Ann Joyce

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birgitta j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've been going to Tullamore for best part of 40 yrs visiting family, and I can honestly say that Grennans is the best place I've stayed. Granted, up to 3 yrs ago I stayed with family (under sufferance) but this place is an absolute heaven. The location is just right, the furthest coast being about 3hrs away. Deirdre and her family are absolutely lovely and cannot do enough for you. Infact there youngest son has become very pally with my two sons, even going out with us and my two going out with them. My family have stayed at Grennans (party of 11 both times) twice with ages ranges from 2yrs to 67yrs, and all loving the stay. I will never stay at family again and neither will my two sons, who have said they will always visit tullamore. Deirdre also bakes scones and cakes/pies that are to die for.
In a nut shell, stunning location, lovely family, accommodation second to non, and if the drive to the house doesn't take your breath away, nothing ever will.

Room Tip: if u like to fend for yourself and your a family ranging of all ages, choose self catering. if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

It's our second year at Grennans country House and as previously we had a great stay, apartment is big enough to host 6 people with queen sized beds in both rooms. Kitchen had anything you need to prepare meals and lady owner went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First class B&B.. Houses are immaculate condition. Very warm welcome one arrival and throughout our stay we felt very much at home.. Throughout my 3 week stay I cannot fault Grennan's. Look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darragh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tullamore hotels
3.6 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
3.2 mi away
Gormagh B&B
Gormagh B&B
#2 of 12 in Tullamore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sea Dew Guesthouse
Sea Dew Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Tullamore
88 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
705 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Townhouse Tullamore
The Townhouse Tullamore
#11 of 12 in Tullamore
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grennan's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grennan's Country House

Address: Aharney, Tullamore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Price Range: £22 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grennan's Country House is a luxurious 4 star country guest house and self caterings set in the heart of Ireland, just 7-8 minutes north-west of Tullamore. Here you can relax and unwind in a totally stress-free environment in the countryside, surrounded by fields, birds singing and fresh, clean air.The highly acclaimed Esker Hills Golf Course is just a short walk up the road. Grennan's is located within easy reach of many of Ireland's great tourist attractions, yet rural enough to give you peace and relaxation after a hard days sight-seeing!Specially built in 2001, Grennan's Country House has 6 generous-sized guest bedrooms as well as a wheelchair accessible suite on the ground floor. There is a guest lounge off the main entrance hall and a large dining room allowing wonderful views of the countryside from your table. Prices start from just €35 including breakfast and some of our home cooking and baking which proves very popular with guests.If you prefer to "do it yourself", why not stay in one of our 3 self caterings located within the grounds of the house. We have two five bed self caterings, each capable of sleeping up to 14 people and a 2 bed self catering capable of sleeping up to 6 people. Each of them is fully equipped with all mod cons including an oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and free wi-fi, all of which allows the visitor that extra bit of independence from just €25 per person sharing ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing