We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a very enjoyable break at the Bridge House Hotel recently, staff in the main were extremely helpful and friendly. Room view terrible though, looking out at a broken down asbestos roof. Room itself small with nice large bed. Dirty marks on walls. Used the pool once but found the whole leisure area untidy and even unfit for use as doors were sticking and looked like they could break at any time. Food was generally tasty in the restaurant and bar area. Breakfast was ok but when they ran out of fruit, like the ad on TV says "when it's gone it's gone". Wine totally overpriced for its quality. Overall a really nice hotel which has huge potential, it's staff are its biggest assert, well done to them. I would not give it 4 star status, it is a genuine 3 star hotel which I have no hesitation in recommending as long as you know that at the time of booking.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L, Customer Service Team at Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jim,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I will pass on all your feedback to the management and staff here.

We do hope we can welcome you hear again in the near future,

Best regards,
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    264
    124
    54
    30
See reviews for
295
378
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I got a family package 2bb& 1 D in the Italian restaurant - would eat there again it was the only Italian restaurant I was in that didn't serve pasta with the main course we were served mash potatoes plus we were giving the wrong starter we paid €30 for a bottle of wine (very over priced) we paid the extra to the restaurant on the night pulse we gave a good tip and we still had to ask for our change back yet on checking out we were charged for wine we didn't even order or received. Would not go to that restaurant again. Staff in the rest of the hotel are lovely vary friendly. Is it a family hotel ???? Yes they have a pool for kids but that's about it there was a kids club on durning the day but it was more for the local kids that finished at 2.30 and that was it no kids entertainment for the rest of the day for the kids. The pictures is right beside the hotel and there is a lovely park about 5min walk from the hotel brilliant for kids and the locals at the park were very friendly. Room was ok very disappointed as the room got very warm and stuffy durning the night we could not open the window as we were right beside out door fans (they were right outside our window) which woke me and my children up at 5.30 in the morning (Not good) I didn't say anything to staff as I know the hotel was fully booked and I was only staying for two nights so the room was like a sauna the next night ( I was in room 212) have to say they really need to improve it would take something good for me to go back. I was expecting a lot more from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber-Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L, Customer Service Team at Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Amber,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
We are bitterly disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay and we really do not want this for our customers.
If you would like, I can arrange a call to you from our General Manager.
Again, please call me on 057 93 25600 to arrange a time that suits you.
Best regards,
Lisa
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Arrived on the 12th of August and was impressed by the entrance of Hotel with beautiful flowers and the lovely stair case, Staff were extremely good and friendly especially the young girl in the bar beside reception. We got a package deal 2 nights bed & breakfast with one evening meal in the Italian restaurant was happy with price and value of money but we were charged €25 for bottle of wine which i thought was a bit pricey with said meal.The bedroom was OK, bed very comfortable but TV was not great only a few stations and some of them were freezing,the bath had a chip out of the bottom of it which didn't look good the bathroom overall was a bit gruby, i went to the swimming pool both days and was a bit disappointed the sauna door is broken and makes a terrible noise when you try to open it can't understand how it was not fixed, the whole swimming area needs a overhaul. I would go back to the hotel just for the way we were treated by the staff and the delicious breakfast, would not go to Italian restaurant again or put up with the tv reception and the broadband was slow. This hotel has the potential to be a 5 star hotel but at the moment its only a 3 star.

Room Tip: We had a great nights sleep and nobody woke us we were on the second floor and I and my wife would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissssssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L, Customer Service Team at Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Lisa,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
I will pass on all of your feedback to all the relevant areas in the hotel and of course our general manager.
We do hope that we can welcome you again at some stage in the future.
Best regards,
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

On arriving at this hotel after a very long journey the outside is impressive, but overlooks a shopping precinct in the centre of tullamore. The entrance is very grand and staff friendly but sadly this is where the four stars end. The family rooms situated on the third floor are dated, cramped and in our case disappointing. We overlooked a dilapidated building, couldn't get a reception on the TV. The toilet had stains on the seat, walls were marked and paper thin. And we could barely move around. A far cry from the four star we had stated in the night prior. The swimming pool had evident tide marks, including in the plastic flaps leading to the out door area. The public toilets were in need of cleaning though the rooms despite their condition were always hoovered and clean. The staff were friendly but did not offer to assist with luggage . I asked to have my room changed which was done and we were put in the same style of room a few doors down. Latterly compensated in terms of our bill when I expressed our dissatisfaction.
I'm sure this hotel was once beautiful but I'm surprised it has achieved four stars given our experience. This was off only family holiday of the year abc therefore I can't help but feel cross that it was wasted in this accommodation when this was supposed to be a rate extravagance ! When I raised the issues they made very little apology as they are renovating , this should be made clear on booking not after you've paid for four star accommodation and not got it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Myself and husband stayed for 1st time in bridge house for a 2 night break on arrival I was very impressed with the grandeur and scale of the hotel the reception staff were so friendly and chatty they made you feel very welcome so top marks there, unfortunately we were slightly disappointed with anything after that.
We had dinner which was included in the special price but you would know it came as part of a deal as the quality was not great, we had nice starter ceaser salad followed by the chicken supreme which was dry beyond but the vegetables were very nice, I had pavlova but the meringue was as good as I can buy in supermarket I would think a four star hotel would have their own recipe or at least resource a local baker for the shells. On 2 visits to the restaurant I had to ask for fresh glass/ cups as they were not clean, I am not a very fussy person but the cup at breakfast was very dirty to the touch and inside filthy like it had been washed in dirty or too full dishwasher when reached to an empty table to swap that cup was also dirty.

The spa pool area is in a bad need of refurbishment it's quite run down the sauna door has to be lifted while opening and closing the handle on outside is broken and was wrapped in tape and the glass was either very dirty or badly stained with water damage the steam room was fine other than the door also not clean, the jets in the hydro pool are not all working in general pool was nice but you look around and think this must have been spectacular a few years ago but the whole area is very tired a a bit dilapidated looking.

The bedroom was nice bed very comfortable, room and bathroom again a bit grubby looking.

The bar has great food all day in form of a carvery and a la carte menus in evenings which was very reasonably priced, the entertainment was very good and drinks good value especially on Monday where the cocktails were 2 for price of 1 and they were delicious .

Overall we did have a nice stay but sad to say the hotel is definitely not four star in any other area other than reception and lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 412Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, on a family break for Tullamore Show. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from start to finish. Rooms, beds so clean and comfortable. Slept great, and so quiet. Meals were just so tasty and delicious. we definitely will return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L, Customer Service Team at Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Good Morning Marie,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighteded that you had such a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Best Regards,
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt that the staff were dedicated to ensuring we had a wonderful weekend break. A porter was summoned to take our bags to the large bright, spacious room that we were allocated. The king sized bed was exceptionally comfortable and we woke refreshed every morning. The food was delicious and service faultless and the staff were very attentive and keen to ensure that any request was fulfilled promptly.
The hotel is a "must stay" venue and we have stayed on several occasions (early booking advised as it's very very popular!). You will not be disappointed - you will however not want to leave !! Can't wait to return (we rebooked this morning !).
Enjoy your stay !!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L, Customer Service Team at Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Good Morning Sharon,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are so delighted with your kind words and I will pass on all of your positive feedback to the management and staff here.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

Best wishes to you,
Customer Service Team @ The Bridge House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamore
0.3 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
20.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
24.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
21.3 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club

Property: Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Address: Bridge House Hotel Bridge Street | Tullamore, Offaly, Tullamore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Bridge House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa is centrally located in the thriving midlands town of Tullamore. Renowned for good food, hospitality and world class service the luxurious Bridge House Hotel is the perfect choice for a relaxing short break, family holiday, spa and leisure break, golf trip or function. Tullamore has lots to offer from nearby shops, restaurants, bars, golf courses, children's recreation, historical sites and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge House Hotel, Spa And Leisure Club Hotel Tullamore
Bridge Hotel And Leisure
Bridge Hotel Tullamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing