We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendy,Clean + homely...”
Review of Brookville House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookville House
Ranked #5 of 13 Tullamore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I agree with FORGET THE OLD REVIEWS ..!
The guesthouse is under new managment of two lovely women and were extremely helpfull in what should be done whilst in Tullamore.

The rooms were clean and fresh. Beds were comfy and plenty space in the rooms for myself, my husband and my two teenage daughters. Bathrooms were a delight as the showers were really clean as was the rest of the place.

Breakfast was delicious and especially for myself as a vegetarian i was offer so much.
My family could not complain about one thing as they cleared their plates !

Finally, i would say overall the guesthouse is extremely clean, delicious breakfast with a home sense that helps you relax as your away. With a friendly management willing to help in every way they possibly can!

With many thanks to Josie & Ewelina.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liza_Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

Dont care about the old bad reviews.
The place is under new management since december 2008
Now it is run by two lovely ladies and they do a great job!

The place is very clean and has quite large rooms. Great full irish breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.
There is parkingspace just outside the door. Some other guests on motorcycles parked behind the house where the bikes were less visible from the road.

The location is perfect for visiting Tullamore.
Restaurants, Pubs, Shopping within walking distance.
Had I known that, I would have stayed there for my whole ireland visit.

Recommendation to the manager: get your online booking working, and put some information on the homepage that can be typed into GPS navigation. Then it is absolutely perfect.

Next time I visit Ireland, I will stay at the Brookville House again

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuckDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I stayed in Brookville House and was pleasantly surprised with the experience. It seems the previous manager was of questionable sanity and left the owners with a ruined reputation and a repair bill for thousands.

On my arrival i was warmly greeted by the owner's niece and shown to my room. I had requested a single but stayed in a double bed with an ensuite. The room had been recently refurbished with all comforts necessary- double bed, spacious wardrobe, writing desk and ensuite. It's location adjacent to the canal and a 5 minute stroll to town makes it an ideal location from which to explore the surrounding area.

The staff were anxious to make sure i enjoyed my stay, and were always on hand should anything be required, going so far as to provide a big jug of water for defrosting windscreens in freezing january.

All in all I would recommend this b&b. It is plainly obvious they are keen to rebuild their reputation and should be highly commended for their efforts to date. At 30 euro a night for b&b with full breakfast, friendly staff for a chat and car parking you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tatie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Brookville House, Rahan Road, Tullamore
B&B phone: (057) 932 1385
Manager name: Jean Pierre (the B&B we stayed in at the end gave us this name).
Website: [--]

On Monday, December 31st at 14.30 we arrived at the Brookville House B&B, located
on Rahan Road, Tullamore.

When we entered the facilities there was no one at reception.
I told my husband to remain at the door while I looked for someone. We heard noises coming from across the dining section, so I headed that way.
There is a room at the end of this section where the noises were coming from, so I poked my head in and said "Hi" to a French sounding gentleman who was tidying up the room.
The gentleman reacted in a unorthodox manner taking his glassess off, rubbing his face in an agressive manner and finally throwing something on the floor in a violent way not far from where I was standing. He went past me and my husband (who was now in the middle of the dining area), completelly ignoring us. At this point we were considering not staying there, even though it would be hard to find another place to stay in as we were in Tullamore for the night.

My husband again said "Hi" to the gentleman (just to reconfirm I was right before jumping to any conclusions). This time we got a rude reply: "So are you staying or what?". My husband in a polite manner said there was no need to be so rude. This is when the gentleman lost it. He started yelling at us saying he was not being rude.
So we told him nicelly we were not staying there after being treated that way, and that made the gentleman even more furious. He started saying "Good, leave, you cannot stay here!".
One reply we got from him was what made me write this letter.
He started saying a lot of things to us, but what struck us most was that he called us "Stupid Irish [--]". My husband is cool headed, but a few Irish people with a hot head would have turned around and thumped him for such a reply.

I am a foreign national myself, from Argentina. If you are staying in a country that is not your own, you should treat the locals with more respect, not insult them, especially when they are your customer.

This B&B is not approved by Failte Ireland. This man should not be running a service that involves dealing with people. Even on the phone he was rude when we were trying to get directions.

Irish people have been more than good to me and all the foreign
nationals I know however if Irish Tourism prides itself on the slogan of the "Land of the Welcomes" we didn't get it in Tullamore.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Polski1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Stayed 3 nights at Brookville House. The owners of this guesthouse seem to employ staff to deal with guests as we didn't once meet the owners during our weekend. (So much for the warm Irish welcome)!

Positives

1 Rooms were clean

2 Bed was comfortable

3 Rate was reasonable (35 Euro pp per night)

4 Plenty to eat at breakfast and it was tasty

5 Vegetarians were catered for without fuss

6 Convenient to town (5 minute walk away)

7 Power shower was good with plenty of hot water

8 Tea making facilities provided

Negatives

1 Rooms were tiny

2 Bathroom was miniscule

3 Bedrooms were basic and needed refurbished

4 The portable television only had 4 stations which were in black and white

5 Never met the owners, felt more like a hotel (it did have 19 bedrooms)

6 The curtains were not lined so the sun shone through the window in the morning

7 Not enough bed clothes available, felt cold in middle of the night and there were no extra blankets in the cupboard

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donegaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pfalz-Reisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank fakiristique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tullamore hotels
1.6 mi away
The Townhouse Tullamore
The Townhouse Tullamore
#11 of 13 in Tullamore
24 reviews
2 mi away
Sea Dew Guesthouse
Sea Dew Guesthouse
#2 of 13 in Tullamore
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
716 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ballycommon House
Ballycommon House
#1 of 3 in Tullamore
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookville House

Address: Brookville House Rahan Road, Tullamore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookville Guesthouse is located in the middle of everything and easy of access, central but in quiet area on the Grand Canal of Tullamore; it certainly has everything to please every type of traveler. With a large carpark in the front and motorbike park at the back of the premises, there are many other guest amenities including cable Tv, free internet access, hot beverages and mineral, ironing and hairdryer, outside sitting area and large breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brookville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing