We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silver Apple - CLOSED

The Silver Apple
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely pint of Guinness in Raffertys used to be followed with a trip upstairs to The Silver Apple for a wonderful meal. Unfortunately, the business is now closed but still provides excellent food supplied to your home. We visited family for my niece's confirmation and the food was just superb. Chicken and Tarragon pie, Moroccan Lamb and Lasagne dishes were all devoured with great pleasure and numerous empty plates are a testament to the quality. Thank You

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 416patrickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pit stop on our trip to Donegal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Sligo on our way to Donegal from Limerick. We used the trip advisor app to find this little restaurant. The meal was well prepared and at a reasonable price. Overall great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TadhgT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thorougly enjoyable meal saturday night. Friendly and very attentive service , good choices on menu and good selection0of wine at reasonable prices. Steaks cooked exactly as ordered. Pity not more diners on saturday night - they deserve it. Attractive dining room with stone walls abd stain glass panels between tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was happy with the meal we had here.. Not the best meal ive ever had but definitely not the worst. I will dine here again. Gets a higher rating as my partner really liked the fish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

In Sligo for the Easter break, and we found this little restaurant our first night, it has a pretty, modern, classic layout, and a relaxed and very welcoming atmosphere. The staff - (there was only one waitress on shift - Nicola) and she was a great girl, very welcoming, attentive (when she needed to be) and efficient. She looked after all the customers, (about half the restaurant was occupied) with the same degree of care that you very often do not get. The food here is excellent, my husband ordered chowder to start, and he thought it wonderful. Both of our meals were a delight, and Louise the chef brought our cheeseboard herself, explaining the locally sourced cheeses, an absolute treat. If we are back in Silgo, we will definately call again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegal_addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silver Apple also viewed

Strandhill, Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing