We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit”
Review of Iona B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iona B & B
Ranked #12 of 24 Sligo B&B and Inns
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Rose was an outstanding host. Her breakfasts were top notch, especially her fresh made scones. The accommodations were spacious, clean and comfortable. Rose was helpful in directing us to local pubs, restaurants and sites to see. Iona is perfectly located to enjoy time in Sligo, the beach at Strandhill or wandering around Benbulben. I highly recommend staying at Iona if your travel plans take you to the Sligo area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was the first B&B my sister and I stayed in during our 16 days in Ireland and it started us off with a positive experience! Rose was so inviting. She fixed tea and biscuits for us as soon as we had settled into our room and we had a wonderful visit in her lovely sitting room. The room was spacious, beds were so comfortable everything was extremely clean and the largest bathroom anywhere on our stay! The location is perfect-close to downtown and Strandhill Beach is right down the road. The landscaping at this B&B was absolutely beautiful. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who was traveling in the Sligo area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I am from the US and my boyfriend is from Germany (we are both in our twenties) and we stayed at the Ross House in August, 2013 for two nights and loved it. The owner was so sweet and made us feel so welcomed. This was our favorite B&B from our entire trip around Ireland. The moment we got there we were offered coffee and pastries. The bedroom was beautiful and the breakfast was lovely. The owner also recommended that we go to Harry's Pub for dinner and we had the best fish dinner. Rosses Point was an amazing addition to our trip. I cannot recommend Iona B&B enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A beautiful b&b clean fresh in a beautiful surrounding the room was very comfy with tea making facilities and en suite shower the proprietress rose was an amazing lady who greeted us warmly saw to our every need and was most obliging polite and courteous a fantastic holiday and wonderful stay in this beautiful place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is truly a gorgeous home with absolutely lovely host. Rose greeted us with a warm smile and even hot tea and biscuits. She is a true delight. The home and rooms are perfect! The b&b has the most perfect landscape I've ever seen at a b&b. It sits on a main road so only minutes to Sligo town center as well just a few minutes drive to beach. It's the perfect location. My children were in love with the place. I can honestly say we did not want to leave. One day is not enough at this amazing b&b!! Thank you so much!! - From Carlos in Florida

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VZeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Iona B & B is a modern two storey house on the Sligo to Strandhill Road, less than two miles from Sligo. It is immaculately clean and tastefully furnished throughout. My report mainly reiterates what others have said.
We were greeted like long lost friends by Rose who, after showing us to our room, offered us a cup of tea in the sitting room where she joined us to tell us about the area and to recommend places to eat during our two night stay.
Our room and en-suite bathroom were both spacious and easily better than those of many hotels we've stayed in. The bed was firm but comfortable, the way we like it.

The breakfasts were something else! The choice and quality have been commented upon by others. All I will add is that before coming to stay in Iona B & B we had stayed a couple of nights in a 4 Star Hotel, and Rose's beat theirs hands down. (And we didn't need lunch!)
We had our evening meals at two of the restaurants Rose recommended - The Montmartre and the Bistro Bianconi - and they were both excellent.
Overall, a wholly enjoyable stay. Thank you Rose!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey_JonesNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

On our arrival at Iona we were warmly greeted by Rose with a cup of tea, coffee and biscuits. We sat in the parlour and chatted for a while. Our room was warm and inviting (cold, wet and miserable outside). Rose gave us tips on what to see, where to eat, where to get our laundry done at a very reasonable rate (we have discovered that there is no self laundromats in Ireland), and where to shop. The Irish breakfast Rose cooked was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
1.5 mi away
Tree Tops Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iona B & B

Property: Iona B & B
Address: Cummeen, Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing