We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Benbulben Apartments
Ranked #18 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Reviewed 7 November 2013

stayed here for 3 nights, NEVER AGAIN will we stay here.When we arrived there is no one in reception to greet you, you need to ring a mobile number and wait 15 minutes for a bloke in jeans to come and hand you a key, NOT once was the room serviced NO clean towels NO toilet paper NO beds made for the duration of our stay , we needed to use a hairdryer which isnt supplied in the rooms so we asked the hotel attached to it for the loan of one and was told that they have nothing to do with the apartments but got us one anyway. this is nothing more then student accommodation.When checking out you again have to ring the mobile to be told to throw the keys in the letterbox, we were given NO receipt for the stay.DO NOT waste your money by staying here.

Room Tip: stay anywhere else in sligo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you have stayed in the Clarion you will sorely disappointed by these apartments. We have stayed in the Clarion Hotel previously and loved it so we decided to try the Benbulben Apartments. As soon as we walked in it stank of fried fish. When we contacted the only working staff member we were given an aerosol air freshener. After we found the kettle was burnt black it took a half hour to get it replaced. Any suggestion of moving room was completely ignored. I had decided to walk to the hotel to get a cuppa. Later I discovered the kettle didn't work and the milk was also out of date so probably a good idea I didn't make tea. Very tired décor compared to the Clarion and not as high a standard of cleanliness. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra to use the Clarion Hotel, avoid at all costs if you want a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Use the Clarion Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMcCrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very good apartment and facilities. Kitchen a little on the small side, but bedrooms fantastic and huge. We stayed in a two bed apartment (one double and one triple room) and would definitely stay here again. Plenty of parking.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GezF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in these apartments in July 2012 for a week, very impressed, very spacious apartments, two en suite bedrooms with a good sized living area and kitchenette in between, wouldn't fault them at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed in January for a friend's hen and was well impressed with these apartments. For the price we were paying I expected something at hostel level, but the rooms are comparable to a 3-4 star hotel - loads of space, clean, comfortable and we didn't hear any noise. Bearing in mind the value, they get 5 stars. The reception area/halls could do with being updated, but at that price I'm not complaining.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the back of the building - didn't hear a peep out of anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustGiveMeAirCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayed in the Benbulben apartments in the grounds of the hotel last weekend. Have to say that the person on duty was more than helpful as my partner forgot her phone charger and he gave a loan of his to help her out. The rooms in the apartments are very big and well serviced. To our suprise there was a fully fitted kitchen which we did not expect. It is a short walk to the hotel, which was very quiet for a weekend and food not great. All in all a great break away in the apartments, but my only suggestion would be to have the halls repainted.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aldde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Please avoid Benbulben Apartments unless you are a stag/hen or underage drinking party.
We went as a family group who had chosen self catering rather than hotel but there were no self- catering facilities-4 odd plates, a few bits of tin cutlery, no dishes. We had to eat out for every meal.
There was not a soul around during the day but come night time the place erupted with wild drunken revellry. Whether these were 'guests' or were just using the empty apartment block as a party venue, I don't know. But I do know it was scary and there was no-one to complain to. I have since e-mailed ---, which apparently is the management agency but no-one has replied. Do yourself a favour, AVOID

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ochnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbulben Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbulben Apartments

Address: Benbulben Apartments Clarion Road | Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Price Range: £51 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbulben Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Benbulben Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing