We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fare in traditional Irish bar”
Review of Hargadon Bros

Hargadon Bros
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great fare in traditional Irish bar”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited on Saturday April 12 for pre concert meal. My wife had a traditional burger with trimmings while I opted for special salmon with chorizo plate. Both were excellent and complimented with a bottle of very acceptable Shiraz. Total cost just over €50. Service was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    187
    34
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great menu and excellent old Irish pub, a must see for tourists. Located on the main street in Sligo, there is a really good atmosphere in here night or day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Breffnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming ambience and great craft beers”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

A wonderful interior with traditional shop shelving, snob screens and booths. A very good menu. Not super cheap but worth it. The best place on town for a fine range of craft beers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't move a mussel!! ”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were already irked due to only deserts being on offer in the Lyons Cafe. So, were thrilled to see Hargadon's advertising mains. We walked through the doors and were soooo taken by the interior. Really old worldly, with great old booths to sit and eat in. Having perused the menu, I was delighted to see mussels in creamy white wine sauce, as love mussels, wine and cream so I felt I could do no wrong. Oh the dissapointment!!! The sauce was heated cream with skin on.. I eyed my husbands steak sandwich with envy. He had chosen so well. I managed to pry some off his plate and it was delicious as were the rustic chips with skins on. He also got a lovely pint of black stuff... Staff were very friendly and attentive. However, ladies toilets not so great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best lunch ever!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here while visiting Sligo as we were both starving. Almost walked past this bar as it's not much from outside. Once inside we chose a booth and the interior can only be described as authentically Irish! Very quaint, dark and with lots of artefacts adorning the walls.

The very pleasant bar man took our order and it arrived very quickly. I opted for the Smoked salmon with wheaten bread and my partner had the chicken panini.

I have never tasted a more delicious lunch, the portions were perfect size and the chutney and cream cheese came in little serving pots. We were very happy with our lunch and if ever in Sligo again we will definitely be back here!!

Helpful?
Thank Em4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hargadon Bros also viewed

 
Strandhill, Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Hargadon Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing