We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints with room in un-refurbished wing”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“No complaints with room in un-refurbished wing”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for a week in an un-refurbished room at the end of an annexe wing. Despite being told there wasn't a view, we could see mountains over the rooftops of the houses beyond the gardens outside our window where rabbits hopped about. It was about as far from reception as you can get, very quiet, where the only noise was from the crows in the morning outside.

We booked a room-only deal through Olotels which was considerably cheaper than the hotel's website but we didn't feel as if we were treated any differently because of this. Check-in on a busy Saturday night was professional and courteous, a very good first impression. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large comfy bed and bright bathroom. Kettle and trouser press but no fridge. There are communal areas on each floor with sofas and shelves of books and magazines.

The leisure centre was really very good and the staff there are to be commended for their friendly and professional approach. Bring a swim hat or buy one there for €2. The 16-metre swimming pool was rarely busy, the sauna and steam-room well maintained and hot enough with a great ice-cold plunge pool to cool off in.

The hotel is a good mile or 20-minute walk uphill from the city centre (less than a 5-minute walk to Markievicz Park). There are buses approximately once every 50 minutes from the petrol station opposite the hotel between 8.46 and 18.11 but mostly we walked into town. Sligo is a fantastic place and we had a lot of great evenings out but do be aware that things often don't get going until after 10pm. If we'd realised this before we booked we might have given more priority to a hotel with a central location. The hotel's bar does stay open til 3am though when there's demand. Good experience, I expect we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We were never disturbed by corridor noise in our annexe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairkeithTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation on your recent trip to Sligo. We are glad to note your comments on the staff, leisure club and restaurant. We are surprised to learn that your booking was cheaper on Olotel, perhaps it was a different package as the most competitive rates are available from the hotels own website. Thank you for your positive remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    397
    165
    69
    36
See reviews for
273
365
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Sligo Park was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent (particularly the Leisure Centre). The guests were noisy late at night when returning to their rooms, and children were running in the corridors at midnight! But this is NOT the fault of the Hotel, just some inconsiderate guests!
We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you to all the lovely staff, who were consistently friendly!

Room Tip: Try to find quiet neighbours?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. Thank you for your positive comments on staff, Leisure Club and comfort at the hotel during your stay. We have noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Booked two rooms Friday and Saturday 26/27 July to meet up with my brother who lives with his partner in Gurteen, Ballymote. We travelled from the north east of England for the reunion, but because of some festival in Sligo, could not get a hotel in town.
My girlfriend and I found, like current reviewers, that whilst the hotel and food were very nice, the hotel is extremely popular for weddings and celebrations. The Irish know how to celebrate, as we found out being woken both mornings at 5am, by revellers returning very noisily to their rooms after the bar had closed. Whilst this is not the fault of the hotel, it should be pointed out when booking.
In addition, apart from the very helpful reception staff, the others could try smiling a bit more.
The room was fine, very clean and comfortable with nice bathroom and good shower. The unseasonably hot weather however, made the room uncomfortably hot and stuffy, even with open windows. We are used to air conditioning, but I accept that it would normally not be needed.
Overall, nice but noisy!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. I am concerned to hear of your sleep having been disturbed by other guests while you were here. A team of night staff look after the hotel through the night and they carry out regular corridor checks which should avoid the situation you describe. I want to apologise to you for this experience which shouldn’t have happened.
I am glad to note some very positive comments you had about the hotel also and I hope that overall you had an enjoyable visit to Sligo.
I hope you will return to Sligo Park in the future and please let me know if ever I can be of any help to you at any time,
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and was great. The room was spotless and really neutral and modern. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The leisure centre was nice, great for kids.
Definitely will be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oohshinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent visit to Sligo. We are really glad to note that you had a positive experience of the staff and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with other Trip Advisor members. We hope you will return soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just stayed at the Sligo Park this weekend booking in Friday 26th July, and checked out today 29th.... Nice hotel with very friendly staff , but I don't think its of four star standard. Rooms were clean but no air conditioning at all. Could hear every thing on our floor from conversations in the hall way that went on into the early morning on Sat and same this morning. Bedroom doors banged shut soon as you let the handle go and last night was awake for three hours listening to guests go from room to room and doors banging... got really pee'd off and rang reception at 6:30 but no one answered. We got an apology from reception when I said it this morning, but I do think that if we booked two rooms and had a party of five staying and dining there, it was a limp acknowledgement of my lack of sleep.
Apart from that the staff were lovely and food was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashlawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your party of five and for taking the time to send your feedback through Trip Advisor.
It is good to read of your very positive comments about most aspects of your stay, in particular the very friendly staff. I am very sorry that you experienced disturbance from other guests and that your call to reception wasn’t answered, This shouldn’t have happened and I apologise for it. I am glad to hear overall that you liked the hotel and I hope you will return in the future,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We fished locally and needed somewhere convenient with good food and good beer. Got both. Leisure facilities first class and staff brilliant, nothing too much trouble, even breakfast at 5.00am before we went fishing! Many thanks, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyfinney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel for your recent fishing trip. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel and staff. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

nice room very clean, the food is good too but it wouldn't blow you away but I am not complaining it went down well, but the staff is the real selling point in this hotel you couldn't meet friendlier staff for the kids, if I am going back to Sligo I be coming back to this hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatirishjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation on your recent trip to Sligo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing