We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Montgomery
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Went with a tour group around Ireland. Stayed in six different hotels, but this is the only one that I would never stay in again. Had no problem with the age, appearance, or cleanliness of the facility. The problem was with the lack of heat in my room (as well as the rooms of several other members of the group), compounded by the rudness and attitude of the staff. I could accept the fact that the staff turns the heat on and off on set cycles. However, when i asked the young lady at the desk why my radiator wasn't working, I was informed, quite rudely on 3 different occasions (beginning at 5PM) that it was working and it was just cycling off. It was only after I met a local girl who was staying in the next room, who went downstairs with me to tell the desk clerk that my heat was, indeed, not working, that they agreed to send someone upstairs to look at it. ( I also had to make 3 more phone calls after this before they came.) It turns out that my radiator was, indeed, broken--even though they had kept implying that I just didn't understand how their heating system worked. at 10:30 p.m., I finally had heat in my room.
This was not a pleasant experience, and I have had to stretch this rating to even give this facility a 2 as opposed to a 1. We stayed in another hotel that was even older than this one; but when I asked if they would come check my radiator (which was turned off), the staff was polite, and they were there within 10 minutes. Because of this I would never give this other facility a negative review. .
All I really require in a hotel are clean sheets, heat, and a staff response if there is a problem. With this hotel, I only got 1 out of 3. The sheets were clean.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttercup62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    200
    161
    69
    71
See reviews for
97
283
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

It's really close to the city center where you can go on foot, leaving your car in the free parking. The hotel looks beautiful from outside, but not inside: it's very old and needs a serious refurbishment. To reach our room we had a long way through a lot of stairs with our baggages. The room was large, but the mattress was too soft, sheets were not so clean, drain wasn't working well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sligo hotels

France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

If you need to catch an Eireann bus early in the morning or if you arrive late at night by bus, this hotel is for you! Right next to the station! The room I had was OK. It could have been a bit larger thus, but still OK. The breakfast was OK, but not the finest I had in Ireland, but prices were reasonable thus.

My only complain would be about the time it took to have hot water in the shower, in the morning. It took 5 minutes, which may sound like nothing but when waiting under the shower, it is a bit long, especially if you are in a hurry. Especially when the weather requires hot water…

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UgolinoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We picked the hotel mainly for its good central location and it ticks all boxes. No problem getting into/out of Sligo and town centre is only 10mins walking distance away. Free parking was also a bonus.
Reception staff were very friendly. Unfortunately we ended up with room 307 - right opposite the ancient lift which was the noisiest lift I have ever heard. We tried to swop rooms but due to it being Easter no other rooms were available. The lift kept us awake for quite some time and also woke us up early in the morning as it really is from another era so do try to request a room far away from the lift.
The bathroom also is in need of TLC - the toilet seat in particular appeared to be ''mouldy'' and could do with a general upgrade. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on breakfast or dinner. There are plenty of pubs/restaurant in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A nice hotel in need of refurbishment. The tiny lift gave up the ghost during our stay which meant hauling suitcases up and down stairs. Wi-fi works only spasmodically. Not a highlight of our Irish tour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Hi, I stayed at the hotel on one of the coupon deals so didn't pay very much to start with. We were 2 adults and 1 big kid, the hotel had no problem giving us a big enough room and it was very reasonable to add the price of my son (from memory 10 euro per day extra). We stayed 2 nights. Initially our room had no wi-fi so we complained and were moved very quickly to one that had. The hotel itself is a little old and tired but comfortable. The bar area was more modern and the food was great. Everything is still VERY expensive in the south and this hotel bar is no different. The hotel is right next to the train/bus station, so great for travel. It is also quite central so easy to walk everywhere and the town is great at night time with some great pubs. Sligo is a wonderful area for travel and scenery so all in all it was a great value place to stay and be able to travel from. The open fires are a nice touch in reception The little leisure centre is a bit tired but usable and they have a great little quirky plunge pool for after the steam room/sauna which you don't often get. All in all, not a bad place and busy so lots of opportunity to meet people (and there were plenty of different nationalities there to talk to).

Room Tip: walk up town and enjoy a pint or two with the locals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandragee Co. Armagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

“The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was very clean with lots of towels. The breakfast restaurant was spacious and there was a good selection of food in the breakfast buffet, evening meals were excellent gr8 value for money ” would have no hesitation in recommending to other people !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing