We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sligo Southern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked 2 nights for my daughter and I for fri and Saturday nite .. Unfortunately my daughter couldn't make the Friday night so I was alone .. I decided to go to bar and have a beer or 2 and I'm so glad I did ... Mark and Niamh made sure I didn't stay alone ... 2 of the best bar tenders I have come across in this country .. Mark is so funny and witty he is an asset to the hotel ... I will be back just to enjoy their company if nothing else ... Grainne in reception was also amazingly helpful .. See you soon and thanks again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyJDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the weekend March 13, Have to say it was a fairly good hotel, Location was excellent, central to everything in Sligo, But the decor of the hotel it self could do with a bit of updating especially the Leisure Facilities this was very out dated & felt a bit grubbey, But the food was good & the staff were excellent. PS (Could also do with providing shower caps in the room)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiejump1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a good hotel if you want value for money and bar food.
Its ideal if you want somewhere central to shops and restarants and bar.
Theres a good atmosphere about the hotel.
The hotel is an older style hotel so doors have keys and can be a bit awkward to open.
The food is ok if you are happy with bar style food.
Facilities are adequate for what you pay.
I wouldnt recommend if you want a bit of peace and quiet and luxury.

Room Tip: good hotel if you want somewhere central and walking distance to shops and bars etc and next door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyDoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Frist impressions on this hotel was brillant, good sized car park bus/train station right on your door step +10 min walk to the shops/bars etc 15min car ride to strandhill with a lovely beach, inside reception is 2 great open fires which gives the hotel warmth + makes it feel cosy, smiles of reception staff give you a lovely welcome, we stayed here on the 22nd for 2 nights for a doctors
order realxing break as I was just out of hospital we had a room on the 3rd floor at the front, room was warm and decor was to a high standerd. bathroom was also very warm, we had a meal on the first night it was great lovely food, breakfast was good to, we didnt get a chance for a swim in the pool but it looked great, only thing was the lift was out of order and from some reviews I read it has been out of order for some time, but they will carry your bags to the room for you its just the stairs to climb, the hotel also lacks I think for good entertainment of all kinds comedy/bands/etc it would stop people going into the town, we did have to change rooms for the next night as the traffic outside plus someone next door snorred that loud all night kept me awake although walls are paper thin with it being a old hotel, we were given a room across the corridor for the next night without any hassle which was quieter except after 4am to be awake with people drunk shouting and doors banging, but that can happen anywhere, we will be back in the future as it was an excellent 3 star hotel for a 2 night package but please get your lift seen too.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the back of the hotel we had 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mckinneybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just read a review by Lorraine 68 and totally agree with everything she said. The hotel's strength is definitely the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We stayed from 17 th 19 feb 2013 on the Groupon deal. We we're made feel very welcome on arrival (and noted that other guests were too) - very friendly reception staff. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. (maybe a bit dated but that's just compared to new/modern hotels). Ours was a bit dark as it looked into a little courtyard but the courtyard was better than views we've had in other hotels and to be honest you're not usually in a city hotel room all day looking for a view. The bed was really comfortable. Room temp perfect. The only prob was slow wi-Fi. Breakfasts were fab. Scrambled and fried eggs done to perfection (which us not normally easy for a buffet). Tasty bacon and sausages. Good Coffee. Breakfast staff v friendly. Bar and lobby area v nice (again, dated compared to modern type hotels but v warm and welcoming-lobby really nice on a sunny day and nice fires going in bar and lobby at night-cosy). Restaurant Meal really good in evening. The menu wasnt extensive (probably due to it being a groupon deal) - the basics really such as salmon, steak, etc. but the food was really tasty-we were all very pleased with ours. And the portions were good. Restaurant staff v busy and yet still really really pleasant and attentive. Health club could do with a clean/makeover to be honest but may not be a priority in current econ climate - something for the future - and it didn't ruin our stay - felt v relaxed after jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and swim. Lovely hotel entrance and handy location. Great atmosphere all in all. We had a great stay and left with a very good feeling about the hotel - as I said at the start - a lot to do with the friendliness of the staff. Congrats best western Sligo southern on a great staff team. Also worth noting that the Coach Lane pub/restaurant (about 5 min walk from the hotel) is great for food. And the Swagman pub, just up from the Coach Lane, is a great wee pub worth popping in to.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gils712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break away. We stayed for 2 nights with a deal through group on...the reception and downstairs lounges are very well decorated with comfy big sofas..the bedrooms (although the decor and furniture a bit dated) are clean with a very comfortable bed and good sized en suite..the breakfast is very tasty,,(if you like beans or mushrooms request them as they are not available unless requested)..the 3 course evening dinner was good and good value for money..the staff are friendly..a downside for anyone wanting internet use..the wifi signal can be poor..all in all a great hotel for a relaxed weekend away..close to train station and town centre a 10 minute walk away..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lOrraine68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

had a great stay at this hotel. i purchased a voucher on groupon for 2 nights and enjoyed my stay here. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. no noise at night except for the odd train.Iwould defenitely recommend this hotel and i will stay there again The staff are very helpful and friendly.the location of this hotel means you dont need a car to go shopping or dining out, bus station is next door and town is five minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing