We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sligo Southern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 4 April 2013

had a 2 night stay here recently. good location in the town but not very impressed with the town. little to do and not a great selection of fun pubs or restaurants with a bit of life.
the hotel was decent but somewhat in need of modernisation.
wifi only worked around the reception of the hotel and not in other public areas or the room we were in.
in a highly competitive market with lots of hotel choices at present i would have thought this would have been an important part of many guests requirements.
breakfast was ok, not the best or worst we have had.
we had an evening meal in the restaurant but service was slow, had to wait over half an hour for main course. no apology for the time taken for its arrival and the food was average when it eventually arrived.
i very much doubt if we would return to sligo or this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayfromtherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Great location for exploring Sligo town and the local sites as very close to bus and train stations and main routes out of town if you are in a hire car. Excellent value for money buffet breakfast which can be charged to room or paid for separately. Evening restaurant and bar food just average. Reception foyer and large lounge extremely comfortable with open fires and big sofas. Very comfy beds and big room. Only negative point was that bathroom and bedroom was chilly, especially first thing in the morning, but we were there at Easter during the unseasonal weather with extreme cold winds.

Room Tip: Rooms at front, but away from the lift were quiet. Twin rooms seem to come with a double and single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowski12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

stayed 2 nites with my mother,as we entered reception, there was a lovely open fire burning.staff are very friendly in all area,s of hotel. stayed in room 311, lovely large room,with double and single bed, large bathroom,food really nice, could,nt fault anything,hope to return again

Room Tip: 311 at the end of corridor large and,quite room. double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night as I was attending a course the following day in Sligo. Overall it was a bad experience, food was dreadful, had food in the bar and it was truly horrible. I pair €90 and was informed I would have to pay an extra €10 for breakfast! What a waste of money. The worst part of my stay was however the other guests, there was a group of people staying who were very loud and rough, they were roaring and shouting at four in the morning, when I rang to reception no one answered, I had to put up with this for half an hour! Never again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Emm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

would recomend this hotel, reception staff very helpful room was clean and comfortable. breakfast very good evening meal was good. very busy hotel. tall barman at nite could be bit more plesent to customers was very rude ( not the one with the moustash) over all a lovley relaxing hotel. will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Got a 2 night b&b stay with a 3 course evening meal for 2 on a Groupon deal for £89, bargain deal and so weren't expecting much more than the value we paid; but we were surprised. Staff were friendly and helpful on check in, room was big and clean (although could benefit from updating décor), breakfast was great and plentiful, dinner was beautiful and great waiting staff also.
Sligo town itself is a beautiful place and because the weather wasn't kind to us we took advantage of the many scenic drives and local sights that were on offer.
Overall a great weekend and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I don't have enough space to type my list of complaints about this hotel. The only nice thing I can say about this hotel is that the staff are very helpful and friendly!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sligo
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing