We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to show her age but very well run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sligo Southern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Really great organization upon arrival as we were part of a bus tour of 41 people - superbly efficient. Tiny Bedroom - all quite old - absolutely nowhere to put our luggage and when you are traveling with a partner for four to six weeks you do have two suitcases each weighing 20+kgs and its a pain in the butt to lift them up on to the bed every time you need to find something. Having made that point we found the room to be very compact and quite adequate. Amanda the barmaid was fanastic

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a week-end family gathering (around 20 adults and 10 children) stay at this hotel.Rooms,food,facities and service were excellent.Special thanks to Emily and all her friendly staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our room was very dated and small. The internet didn't work in the room. When we were sitting in the lobby the other day in the morning to use the internet one member of staff, who seemed like a manager asked us if we just came in to use the internet. We felt a bit insulted as we she did see us the night before in the hotel. Would not really go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while doing a coach tour. This is an older hotel but has loads of character. The rooms are only small but had all what we needed. Tea & coffee but no fridge. The hotel has a pool and gym but does not open until 8 am which is too late when your on an organised tour. The hotel is in a good location walking distance to town. There is a great pub across the road call Donahys which has fantastic food and service. Internet is not very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed for one night, room Was fine but heat was sweltering! Endured a very uncomfortable night. Wi Fi access was non existent with lots of folks bewildered at the inability to connect. Bar was practibly empty for the entire evening. Breakfast was fine with plenty of self service food available. Would not be rushing back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Ger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and found staff very helpful and friendly. Room was big and clean, breakfast very good. Location is excellent, we walked everywhere in town. Sligo is a lovely town, loads to do and great music in the bars and clubs. We will definitely return to Sligo and will stay in the Best Western.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days, the room was large, lovely ensuite bathroom we checked if there was a room with a walk in shower but these 2 rooms were booked but the staff checked that there was a rail so I could use the shower. The room was spotless no complaints there.
Down stairs there are lovely lounge areas to relax in and nightly music in the bar. Breakfast was a serve yourself with cereals and fruit up to a full Irish fry. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. 1 tip, if you arrive by car use the pay and display car park next to the hotel to drop your bags off at the side entrance this gives you a level walk to the reception as there are 2 flights of steps up from the hotel car park. To get into town is about 10 minutes just turn left out of hotel cross the main road and go straight on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevore415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing