We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a Grand Old Hotel in a good location but its starting to get a little frayed at the edges and becoming more of a budget hotel. Our room was nice though a little small and despite the best attempts of staff and three different remotes ( you get one with your room key) the TV refused to tune. No problem as Dinner was good down in the basement, the bar welcoming and breakfast of a good standard. I think if the owners were to spend some money on refurbishing the roooms this place could be truly amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    202
    164
    71
    71
See reviews for
98
289
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel St. Patrick's weekend. From the moment we arrived until
we left the staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful. We requested a quiet room and got a lovely big, clean quiet one. The food both in the bar with open fire and Dining Room was lovely and lovely staff. Music at night was excellent. Its very convenient to town and a good stopover for travelling to Donegal. Its not easy to keep everyplace in tip top shape in these recessional times, but they are doing a great job. I read on trip advisor alot of hotels are dated. but for me its not an issue, I think being dated has character, once its clean and serve good food and we guests have the health to enjoy it. what more do we need. We had a lovely stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. Hope you have a great season and thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great looking somewhat nostalgic hotel. Pale yellow external walls suit the architecture and overall character so well. Very cosy communal area downstairs.

Really helpful and cheerful staff.

Reasonably quiet and spacious rooms, well furnished and altogether grand looking. The only complaint: level of hygiene in bathrooms. Attention to detail definitely lacking. Grubby soap nozzles, back of toilet seats and taps definitely stand out. That leaves one wonder if the rest is cleaned thoroughly or just wiped to shine.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Really great organization upon arrival as we were part of a bus tour of 41 people - superbly efficient. Tiny Bedroom - all quite old - absolutely nowhere to put our luggage and when you are traveling with a partner for four to six weeks you do have two suitcases each weighing 20+kgs and its a pain in the butt to lift them up on to the bed every time you need to find something. Having made that point we found the room to be very compact and quite adequate. Amanda the barmaid was fanastic

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a week-end family gathering (around 20 adults and 10 children) stay at this hotel.Rooms,food,facities and service were excellent.Special thanks to Emily and all her friendly staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our room was very dated and small. The internet didn't work in the room. When we were sitting in the lobby the other day in the morning to use the internet one member of staff, who seemed like a manager asked us if we just came in to use the internet. We felt a bit insulted as we she did see us the night before in the hotel. Would not really go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while doing a coach tour. This is an older hotel but has loads of character. The rooms are only small but had all what we needed. Tea & coffee but no fridge. The hotel has a pool and gym but does not open until 8 am which is too late when your on an organised tour. The hotel is in a good location walking distance to town. There is a great pub across the road call Donahys which has fantastic food and service. Internet is not very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing