We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay - nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
784 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay - nice hotel!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here around mid-July. Location is about a 5 minute walk to the city center so relatively central. If your driving the hotel offers free parking onsite and you register your details with reception. The hotel interiors is quite nice although perhaps a little dated - still very nice. Reasonable bar and restaurant downstairs with wifi access in the lobby. The room was relatively comfortable and spacious as well as being clean. Pleasant night sleep so no complaints. Overall if I was to return to Sligo, based on price, I would definitely return due to the value offered at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    210
    168
    74
    73
See reviews for
100
296
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was on a business trip to Sligo in late July 2013 and booked into this hotel for two nights. What a disaster! I parked my car in the car park and proceeded on foot to the hotel entrance with my case and several bags. I had to ascend about six steps then another five or so steps and then finally another one or two before I reached the hotel entrance. A ramp was not visible. When I checked in I asked for help with the remainder of my luggage and this was provided. The lift is quite small and the doors open very slowly and I was scared it would break down every time I used it. The wi fi did not work in my bedroom.

The hotel décor and furnishings are dull. My bedroom was sweltering and I asked for a fan which I received. I also asked for a top sheet and a duvet cover was provided. The bed was not conducive to a good night's sleep and guests were coming and going into the early hours of each morning talking and banging doors. I also found it difficult to read with the bedside lamps.

One sat where one liked having breakfast and helped themselves. I had muesli on the first morning, it was powder like and tasteless. The hot food I tried to eat was cold. The orange juice was tepid.

When I returned on the second evening my bed was not made, the duvet cover was still in place and a new top sheet was folded and left on top of the bed.

When I was asked was everything ok when I was checking out I responded no and listed out my complaints. A manager telephoned me the next day and said she would report matters at a management meeting later that evening and would revert to me. To date I have not received that call.

I won't be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sligo hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a non-driver, the fact that the Best Western was right across from the train station was a big selling point for me. It was far enough away and with decent enough soundproofing for us not to be bothered by the station noises either.
If the decor of a hotel is important to you, the loud and clashing colours in the lounge may bother you. Fortunately for me, this is not the case.
The bedroom is tidy, clean and comfortable and the view from our room on the second floor was pleasant. The staff at the front desk were very polite and helpful, going so far as to suggest places to visit nearby and giving detailed directions.
One thing that brought it down was that, when we went out for drinks during the night, we returned to find the doors were locked and had to hail a cleaner over to let us back in. This is probably our own fault for not checking whether the hotel opened all night or not, however but it was the first time I've ever experience a hotel locking up completely for the night like that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeC182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights here on July 24th and 25th. It was fine. Not bad but nothing special. The room was a bit smaller than I would have thought although this might have been partly due to the massive bed. I was dissappointed to discover that the bed was 2 single beds pushed together which caused an uncomfortable crease right down the middle.

The TV had a good few channels on it however we didn't have a remote control for it. Not much of a problem as we don't go away to watch TV.

I found the room to be very warm, mainly due to the hot weather. There was no air conditioning so we had to open the window. However we were at the front of the hotel so with the window open we had traffic noise and drunk girls arguing. (I hope herself and Chloe made up). So it was a choice between too noisy or too warm. Wouldn't have mattered much as we would have been woken by loud chamber maids roaring down the corridor at each other in the morning anyway.

We had asked for a bottle of wine to be in our room when we arrived and they obliged. However I then had to bring the bottle back down to the bar to have it uncorked which kind of defeated the purpose.

The staff were very nice and very friendly and the decor in the bar was lovely. Drink was reasonably priced for a hotel, can't say the same for the food though. We didn't actually eat in the hotel but breakfast was advertised at €10 per person if pre booked or a whopping €18 if not!!!!! There are plenty of places down by the river where you will get good food for half that price.

The hotel was greatly positioned right beside the bus and rail station but overall I don't think i would go back. Next time we will try the Glasshouse which was only a few quid more expensive but generally has good reviews

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

During our trip to Ireland we stayed at the Best Western Southern Hotel, an old fashioned quaint
hotel, an enjoyable and relaxing place to stay. Good service and an excellent cooked English breakfast. not a fan of Haggis for breakfast but plenty of other breakfast choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very nice hotel with all of the service you could ask for. Clean rooms a bit on the smallish size, great spa/fitness center which included a pool large enough to swim laps, a co-ed stream room and hot tub, and large workout room with multiple machines for both cardio and strength training. The only drawback was the lack of A/C which made sleeping in the 80 plus degree heat not so nice. The breakfast buffet was good and offered both hot and cold items. Excellent pub on-site and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street didn't get the afternoon sun and heat but are a bit louder with the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art48455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nice location, don't expect much for the price, simple but good.
Hotel need to be refreshing.
Don't forgot to ask the remote control before to go to your bedroom.
Try to have a bedroom with two windows if the weather is very warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing