We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a wonderfull week-end stay in this lovely old Sligo hotel with my extended family and friends (35 persons,ranging in age from under 2 to over 70) Emily and her staff met all our requirements in the most helpful and friendly manner.Rooms ,food and amenities were excellent.Highly recommended,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear adrian b,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you and your extended family enjoyed your break at the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre. We loved having you and look foward to welcoming you all back again in the near future

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    212
    170
    76
    74
See reviews for
102
300
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here with some friends as part of a tour of ROI. First impressions of the hotel were good, the check in was easy and although we arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time our room was ready. The hotel has its own free car park. We stayed for 1 night only and was put in room 537, which was basic and clean although the decor could do with some modernisation. Wifi was only available in public places in the hotel. We went to use the spa facilities in the morning, only to find the jacuzzi was not in use, and the sauna and steam rooms squeezed a maximum of 6, which we found to be disappointing.. The pool was nice for a few lazy lengths and swimming caps had to be worn, although these were provided by the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Leanne H,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, we did have problems with our wifi but have employed a new company and it has been rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sligo hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our two children stayed for the last 6 nights. We found the accommodation really good value and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great for the many excellent restaurants and bars in Sligo and just a few minutes drive from both Rosses Point and Strandhill Golf clubs - both must plays if you are a golfer staying in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Tony L,

Thank you kindly for your feedback it is greatly appreciated and we are delighted yourself and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel in the near future

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

living in sligo, we decided to go here for some food on the June bank holiday Sunday, we had to wait 1 and 15 mins for food!!One bar man was on, doing the drinks and food with a bar full of people and a coach full of people arrived in. we ended up cancelling our starters because we were waiting so long. I just ordered a portion of fish fingers (4 fish fingers on a plate with nothing else) and i was charged for a full kids meal! when i questioned it as i only ordered a portion not the full meal i was told " thats what price the till is showing up". How you can justify that as an answer i dont know? Can the staff not use there own cop on or are they dependent on a till? I think that customer service should be a priority these days, but going by this episode i nor my family will not be returning. It was disgraceful!

Room Tip: if u want ot stay for location fair enough but very poor hotel! my family who visit quite often will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear linda S,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we do apologise for the service on the day, and rest assured this is not the norm. We have taken your comments on board and the matter has been addressed and procedures put in place

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the night spent here. I was a bit dismayed when I saw the "Best Western", thinking "Oh no. Not an American style hotel." But was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. The lobby and public areas reminded me of the Victorian era. The room was spacious, clean, warm, well stocked with tea and coffee. We ate dinner there that night, I have pictures to prove it, but for the life of me I cannot remember the meal! That would be a good indication that there was nothing wrong with the meal or I would have remembered it!
Since we were with a tour group, breakfast the next morning was buffet style. Like all the hotels we stayed at, it was full Irish and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when your next in Ireland

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lovely hotel with very helpful staff. I left my swimsuit in the leisure club and it was posted on to me when it was found. The room and bed were very comfortable and food excellent. Fully recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Carolyn O,

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate the feedback

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre in the near future

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. kildare
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Three friends and I visited Sligo for the town's Bridge Congress but were too late to book in to the Radisson Blu where the event was being held. The Best Western is in a great location beside the train station and looks lovely from the outside so we decided to spend the weekend there. The decor of the large reception rooms is very hard on the eye - pattern and colour clashing gaily but homely nonetheless. The Reception staff were very efficient and obliging. We were given two twin rooms and myself and my friend drew the short straw with our room being small and dark with no view from window. However we were under pressure to eat and then play cards so we passed no comment. On our return the room was chilly but there was no way to adjust the temperature so I pulled out an extra blanket and bundled into bed in my socks and hoodie. Next morning I had a shower, the nozzle of which could not be adjusted, so it was like being sprayed by needles and the temperature was just above tepid; the bedroom was still cold; the TV (old style cube) didn't work and the cleaning staff left us with no towels. In fairness when we complained the staff moved us in to a new room straight away which was much better but even at that one has to question why we weren't given the better one when we first arrived. The hotel feels neglected, like there is no-one in charge who greatly cares about her - case in point, the stainless steel bins in the bathrooms still had their Dunnes Stores E8 stickers on them and the overhead light didn't work. Breakfast was fairly basic with tinned fruit rather than fresh and on our second morning one member of staff in particular, was clearing up around us as we ate despite it being only 10.40 (last time for breakfast at weekend being 10.30). We each paid E110 for 2 nights bed and breakfast which I feel was over the odds for a mediocre bedroom and standard breakfast. The hotel has seen better days and while it seemed clean it badly needs to be refurbished. I wont be rushing back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing