We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On a two night stay with my family we found this hotel staff very welcoming, with an excellent location. The only major issue I had was when I wished to pay for my stay in pounds sterling, I was informed that there was no allowance on the exchange rate i.e I would be paying pound for euro; I found this outrageous in this day and age, and this issue is the only thing that would deter me from returning to this hotel.
The rooms were pleasant, if a bit dated. In my particular room, the bathroom ceiling was very mouldy; a coat of paint wouldn't go a miss. Other than that, the stay was pleasant and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NQ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear NQ86,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we don't have the facility in the hotel to offer a bureau de change and we only advertise our rates in euro because of this. We have addressed the issue with regard to the bathroom ceiling, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again when you are next in Sligo

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    200
    161
    69
    71
See reviews for
97
283
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for a short stroll to the bars and restaurants of Sligo town. It's also only 5-10 mins drive to the beautiful beaches at Strandhill and Rosse Point. The hotel itself seems to have had some modernisation downstairs in reception and the bar but the bedrooms are somewhat drab and dated. They were however clean and the beds we're comfy. The showers were old but worked perfectly well. I guess if you want a boutique style, the this is not for you. If you want comfort, quiet and a good location, it is perfect. Unfortunately we were locked out of our original room twice and a staff member had to climb through the window to release the door! The staff however we're helpful, dealt with the issue immediately and we're always very polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thank you for your feedback, and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the u bolt locking on your bedroom door, we addressed the issue immediately and the lock has since been changed.

We are delighted you found our team to be very polite and accommodating and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kindest regards

T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Older style hotel but the rooms need updating - badly.
Location of the hotel was good, a short walk into the centre of town, but nothing to complain about.
Despite the rooms being old, they were tidy and comfortable, but having said that, the room I was allocated had a neon sign near the window, so the light that came into the room was somewhat annoying. Didn't complain due to it being only a 1 night stay.
The restaurant location and décor was unusual, but the food was fine.
Overall, was adequate for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear RedDevil1978,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre. Our rooms are constantly being revamped and we try and keep them in line with the old world feel of the hotel, the neon sign is turned off at night, and if you had let us know we would have turned it off on request.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your next in this part of the world

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A nice big hotel - not very personal - ok service. The food served in the bar was ok, and no more. The room was very nice and clean. Acces to the town-center a little long. Next time I would choose an accomodation closer to citycenter.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room not facing the street. (they an be a bit noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ole H,

We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed that you felt we are a distance from the town centre, as its only a 5 minute walk to Sligo's main street.

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and have discussed same with our team

We look forward to meeting you again when you are next in the North West of Ireland

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days and in terms of location, it was great. Everything wasin walking distance, especially an excellent pub, Donaghy's. The rooms are nicely sized with a large bathroom. Our toilet drained slowly and was difficult to flush. I think if I had pushed it, we would have been offered a different room which would have been fine. The elevator had strange pink lighting which was kind of sickening. It was the only hotel we stayed in that had its own parking so it was nice to avoid parking garage charges.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kathryn C,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your this side of the atlantic

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 3 days and were met by a very helpful member of staff who gave us some good info on places to see while we were in Sligo. All of this info proved to be very helpful with some brilliant views in all the places we went to. We had booked B&B and evening meal which was delicious. The breakfast had all the usual to suit all tastes and there was plenty of everything on offer. The meal was also good with about five choices to choose from. The staff all round are friendly and very helpful. The bar is huge with some good seating & well placed to give that private feeling. The lounge area could seat about 100 and all in good comfortable seats. Bar food is also very good, service if fast & clean. We used the pool & though it is small it was impeccably clean. Lots of hot water for showers & the bedrooms were tidy, maybe a little basic & if I were to find a fault anywhere during out stay it would be that there could have been some more drawer space in the rooms. A small complaint I know but that is all I could say about it. Would I go back again ? most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Fran-Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow trip advisor users, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken on board your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre when your next up in the north west

Kindest regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

went here for a solo relaxing break
staff were very friendly and helpful
had booked a room at front as asthmatic and fresh air very important..
when i arrived i had been given a room looking onto a courtyard with poor air quality
this was handled very well and i was immediately given a room facing onto the front with a lovely fresh feeling.
from that moment on i relaxed.
a lovely hotel to relax and the pool was lovely/
great location to walk into the town.
bringing my husband back in July and as a treat have booked a luxury room. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSFATTYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear MRSFATTYBelfast,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to offer your feedback, we look forward to welcoming yourself and you husband back in July

See you soon

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing