We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location perfect”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for only one nite on our way to Donegal. It was lovely will definately be back!
Staff in reception very friendly with few suggestions of short walks around sligo. Map included. Breakfast very tasty - full irish. Room was clean, quiet and had coffee/tea making facilities. Nice to be able to park the car at the back and enjoy the music and craic in the local pubs/restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxyviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here recently with friends for a few nights. The hotel is very centrally located with free car parking and is near the main street and opposite the main shopping centre. We found the rooms clean and spacious and great value for money. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the tourist sites. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kildare054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

After checking in and then checking out of the awful Glass House Hotel we checked into this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the room is basic but very comfortable, we slept very well and breakfast was good and served by a very friendly waitress. If I was going to Sligo again we would stay here, we don't intend visiting this town again as the bars and restaurants are over priced with exception of the bar on the dock, turn right when walking out of hotel, can't miss it

Room Tip: no tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were dubious about staying in this hotel. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel seemed, we were welcomed by a receptionist that couldn't be nicer, then directed to a room that was nice, spacious and clean. We went to the bar for some food that was delicious and very reasonable, again greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Overall we could'nt fault this hotel, we would recommend it to anyone and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhanmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I was a guest staying at the Sligo City hotel and I was berated by a staff member (receptionist) and what I'm sure was a friend of the staff member standing by the reception because I asked if the later bar was in effect after coming Back from a night out with friends ( I'm a person who would not drink to excess)
I booked the room under the
understanding that if I so choose too I could have a late drink after midnight like any other hotel. Not so here. Under staffed and abusive. I will tell all my friends and family not to stay in this hotel as I have never been treated like this before in a hotel. And i will blog about my treatment here.
"I'm Irish and I say don't stay here"

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ace7t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here on a night away with a gang of friends. Really central location with off street safe car park. Very grotty. 3 very wonky lamps in the room. Lots of cobwebs in the curtains and on the ceiling. Staff very nice and helpful. The bed sheets and carpets seemed very clean though. Only stayed here because of the price.

Room Tip: def not a spa weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwaygirlSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

we stayed in this hotel and were delighted with how central it was to all the shops and bars in sligo but in my opinion this was the only plus side to this hotel, the room was tiny and very grotty, there wasn't even a remote control for the tiny little portable tv, the bathroom was very small with a poor working shower, although it was clean , the whole room was in need of redecoration at the very least. We found the staff to be very uninterested and unhelpful particularly on reception, we asked was it ok to park in the small carpark down the road and they assured us it would be fine there the next day as it was sunday so we wouldnt need to pay for parking, unfortunately we had a ticket waiting for us on the car the next day which cost us 40 euro, we would not stay there again, although cheap we would be willing to pay that bit extra for better service and nicer hotel rooms, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul71115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £64 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing