We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel ...First Class Service ... Just Simply ... FIRST CLASS.”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel ...First Class Service ... Just Simply ... FIRST CLASS.”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed there l4th May 2012 and from the moment you step into the Hotel everyone and everything is at your disposal.

Tea in the lounge ... if ordered ... immaculate room with piping hot bath water for the tired. For the hungry traveller a very full breakfast and all staff served this with a smile. Morning newspaper free at Reception if you care to read it and the staff there couldn't do enough for us either !

A truely relaxing lst class stay and this was our second visit so it must have been good ! We have stayed at other hotels around Sligo but nothing could match the Sligo City Hotel !

Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    137
    77
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
159
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

good Location. Nice clean friendly place. Breakfast quite good. reasonably priced. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A great location for our weekend stay in Sligo. We upgraded to a suite & it was quite spacious and comfortable. Staff, especially Front, were welcoming and very helpful.

Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms are a little small but the hotel is comfortable and clean. The breakfast was decent and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff. The best thing about this hotel is the brilliant central location and the availability of parking if you get there early.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here in November 2011 on a combined pleasure/business trip! It is your typical 3 star hotel I feel a lot of 3 star properties are starting to look a bit dated due to lack of funds to invest. The room was ok, cold though. It was clean and the bedroom and the bathroom were a good size. I found all the staff extremely friendly. There is limited parking but this was not a problem the nights we stayed. We stayed on a 2b&b and 1 dinner package. The breakfast was fine, cooked to order, maybe there is a buffet at busier times, I don't know. The food I found was poor. I am a vegetarian an as there was a chicken curry on the menu I asked could I have a vegetarian curry instead. I found a couple of pieces of chicken in my curry, (it obviously was pre-prepared and the Chef decided to pick out the chicken as opposed to cut a few vegetables for me); this is a big no-no for a vegetarian and very insulting and disappointing. Would stay again but wouldn't eat here. My partner eats meat and his food was not great either!
Is excellent central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Istayed at the Sligo City hotel for two nights 30/31 march 2012. The room was clean and warmStaff were friendly and professional . noise levels were minimum. I enjoyed the irish breakfast. However I wish to mention one member of staff who I believe was an a perfect ambassator for the hotel and an example of Irish Hospitality. (Shinead)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It is very easy to rate the Sligo City Hotel...... first class location, excellent staff and very clean & comfy room. We stayed over the St. Patrick's weekend, 17th to 19th March and we will make this hotel our regular base for future visits. As is our usual habit when on short breaks we didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but if it is up to the standard of everything else then it can't be too bad!
For restaurant goers check out Restaurant 'Montmartre'. Fabulous French restaurant. Don't leave Sligo without having a walk on the beach at Strandhill.....God's Country.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonalCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,593 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing