We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disappointment”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel only because we couldnt get a last-minute reservation in the Glasshouse Hotel nextdoor. Parking is to the rear of the building and is very limited. We just got the last space. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was nearby, but on entering same, we were blown away by the smell of stale ciggerette smoke in our non-smoking room. I complained for the first time in all the hotels we've ever been in and left the key with the receptionist. When I returned four hours later, the room window had been opened! We both have a sense of humour, so needless to say, we just laughed. The room still smelled strongly of smoke and if it had been a longer stay, we would certainly have asked for another room. The lighting in the room was less than adequate to the say the least. My husband couldnt see to shave the following morning. It didnt help that the light over the bathroom mirror didnt work. I dont open my own front door without my make-up, so you can imagine the fun I had the following morning, trying to remember where all the features on my face were! The tv was old-style with a hand-full of stations only. The stadard lamp in the room did not work either. This was a bummer, because I couldnt see clearly enough to read. The hotel was quiet, but we could hear the guy in the next room snoring like a tractor! Breakfast was adequate but not very exciting and included a hot selection. Overall, the only thing going for this hotel is its location bang in the city centre. It is an old hotel that requires serious updating and refurbishment. My advice to anyone wanting to stay in Sligo - stay in the Glasshouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    137
    77
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
159
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived here with no booking and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who couldn't do enough for us. The room was really nice, big, spacious and the bathroom was lovely. The location was so central and the breakfast was delicious. Parking facilities were provided so I have absolutely nothing negative about this hotel and would recommend to anyone and I am very hard to please!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaleen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

booked room only on late rooms.com. Small twin room but clean. dodgy tv but if you only want somewhere to sleep its fine. Didnt eat there but looked at the menu and it was standard. This hotel would suit stag/hen parties. 1 good thing is they have parking at the rear which in Sligo thats a bonus. very good location as it is located in the very center of Slgo

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The room was very nice, elegant and spacious: I had booked a triple room, so besides a single and a double bed, there was also a big sofa, a table and 2 chairs!!! There were all the facilities needed: tv set, hair dryer and a big and clean bathroom. The staff was very nice. It is very well located because it is in the centre of Sligo and it has a complimentary car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Easy to find although the car park is tiny! Reception staff helpful and friendly.
Our room was comfy and clean, the shower was a stupid design and basically soaked the whole bathroom!
We did not eat here but the bar was ok, if a little slow ( one member of staff on and it was a busy night as Sligo races were on)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night - when I arrived the hotel was fully booked and I was allocated a room (garvogue suite) no windows and no light. Sarah at reception tried her best to give me another room but due to the hotel being fully booked this could not happen. Anyway the hotel is in a good location very central for sligo. I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food.

I would stay again - but not in that room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just back from a night here. Excellent location but the carpark is very small. Check-in was very smooth with a very helpful receptionist. Check-out proved more difficult with a very unpleasant and unhelpful staff member who tried to charge me more than the rate at which I booked the hotel. Management rectified the situation. Overall, I feel that there is a considerable choice of hotels in Sligo which represent better value for money. I stayed here as I was traveling with a group. It was the only available hotel which was able to accommodate us all on our travel date.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon123Dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,593 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing