We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A lot of stairs,rooms small, staff not very helpful.
Breakfast was good,But need to be more customer friendly
KIDS running up and down in hall and management
Doing nothing. Parking car is a pain there parking lot around back
Not a lot of space.

Room Tip: There is an elevator but were on 2nd floor there are still stairs in hallway An inconvenience when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 940Valerie940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valerie
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Sligo City Hotel.
Needless to say I was disappointed to see you were not 100% satisfied with your visit to us.
I would really love to discuss this with you personally but am unable to access you through your guest profile.
It would be great if you could contact me so that we can go through your comments - we do have lifts throughout the entire Hotel as well as stairs which confuses me slightly.
The Hotel prides itself on staff helpfulness and friendliness so it is regretful you did not experience this.
As mentioned I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with us.
Please contact me on gm@sligocityhotel.com - Trevor Canning - 071 91 44000
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I did not have reservations when we arrived at Sligo City Hotel late Friday afternoon during a bank holiday weekend-meaning the hotel was very full. Trevor at the reception desk was unbelievably gracious and helpful.He worked the computer and was able to accommodate us in the Coney suite which faces the street, but is not noisy. There are plenty of windows letting in light and fresh air. TV is old style box type (not flat screen), but we didn't turn it on at all. There are plenty of outlets for electrical devices, free wifi, coffee/tea service and the bed is a comfortable and spacious king. The hotel is in a fantastic location within easy walking distance in center of town with many shops and restaurants. The staff is exceedingly friendly and works hard at accommodating guests. We had dinner both nights in the hotel bar. The food was good, not great, as was the breakfast. Service for dinner was a bit slow, but then we were not in any hurry to go anywhere. Despite the somewhat slow dinner service, the friendly and helpful staff earns a 5 star rating from me. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends, and would stay here again if we return to Sligo. Thank you Trevor for your warm welcome and for making our visit carefree!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vespa4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear vespa4jen
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Sligo City Hotel Recent.
I really appreciate the kind comments you have given - we are in the process of changing the Televisions in our Suites at the moment. We were busier than usual both evenings in the bar/restaurant however this should not have reflected in the service you received. I have also taken on board the comments regarding the food.
We would love to have you stay with us in the future
Thank you again
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We went here for my sister's hen weekend and we had a fab weekend. The location was perfect and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. The staff Brian and Sarah were so friendly and even helped us out surprising my sister. I will definitely come back and stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Jennifer
Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us @ The Sligo City Hotel.
We are delighted your enjoyed your stay.
I have passed your kind words onto Brian and Sarah.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Large group of us stayed here for hen party weekend on 25th May 2013.
Welcom at reception was excellent-very friendly and welcoming to us all.Accomodation was excellent-rooms spotless and bed extremely comfortable.Location of hotel was fantastic-very central to everything for us.Breakfast was nice the following morning. Special thanks to Trevor the general manager for his wecome to us all and his help at breakfast the next morning.I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends and will definetly return here in the future with either friends or for a family stay. Excetional,a hidden treause in Sligo without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philomena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Collette
Thank you very much for all your kind comments that you mentioned on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to have you and your friends stay with us - You were all great fun
I look forward to you staying again with us soon I hope.
Many Thanks
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here with colleagues whilst attending a conference in another Sligo Hotel in April 2013. Welcome by reception and other staff was professional and friendly, particular recommendation of Michael behind the Bar for great service.

Accommodation was as expected for the rate and standard of the Hotel, ready to be updated, but clean and relatively comfortable, although some colleagues did mention that the single twin beds were quite small.

Overall, would probably look elsewhere if visiting Sligo again (would like to try the Glasshouse next time as they had no availability on this occasion) but wouldn't have a problem staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hospirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hello Hospirish
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments via Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
The team were delighted to hear about the Friendly welcome you have recieved and I have passed your kind words onto Michael.
We have had all our Bedrooms, Lobby space and Function rooms re-painted in Jan/Feb 2013. We are currently having all our Lobby Furniture replaced so as you can see ongoing Maintenance and upkeep is a priority for us.
We would be delighted to have you stay with us again should the occasion arise
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

have to say this is a hinden treasure in sligo what a wonderful hotel, fantastic location. From my stay at the Sligo City i would defo recommend it to everyone and i will defo be visiting it very soon.
The rooms are very spacious very clean and the shower omg it was amazing.
The bar is very nice and a great place to relax in.
The food was just out of this world and not over priced.
The breakfast is so so tasty and not served to early.
The staff were A1 from the reception staff to the bar staff all very friendly and showed great customer service.

I would defo recommend it to anyone and its very well priced for its location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Hello Aaron
We really appreciate your recent feedback following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel.
I have recently taken over as General Manager and it is a real plus for me to read your comments.
Please do say hello if you happen to be staying with us soon again
Thank you
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were staying here as part of a wedding reception In a nearby hotel,on Friday night. Great value for money with spacious rooms so we decided to stay thensaturdy night also. We took advantage of "the special burger & a pint" deal in the bar which was tasty and also great value. Breakfast was also delicious. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the Sligo area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariemc979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Hello Marie
The team and I were delighted to recieve your very positive comments following your recent stay with us.
We would be trilled to have you stay with us again if you happen to be visiting the Sligo area.
Best Wishes
TrevorCanning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing