We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, nice”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We reserved two rooms, one double and one twin. Both were a good size, beds were nice. Staff was very helpful, changed 2nd room upon request to be beside of each other without problems. Hot shower and plenty of towels, shower gel, shampoo, soap, coffee, tea...

Only stayed for a night but it was perfect for us as it was in the city center, great pubs around. Parking was full so we had to leave the cars in front of the hotel. Good experience all together.

Room Tip: Room 215 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s-tinkerbell-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Tinkerbell
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Sligo City Hotel - We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your break with us.
We really hope that you stay with us again soon
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed in Sligo City hotel for 1 night as I was meeting friends, as a regular visitor to Sligo I picked this hotel because of its central location. It was not what I expected on walking in the door I was meet with a foul smell of alcohol, I then checked in which was quick but when I headed up to room it was quiet small and had only double single and sofa bed, I had booked a family room which I confirmed on booking was a room with double and 2 singles as it was for 4 adults, I also ran the day before check in to confirm room. This room was tiny with extremely poor lighting really old fashioned in decor etc. We got ready and to head out and when leaving hotel we were meet with a crowd of quiet drunk lads standing outside the door. After a long night out we returned and seen the residents bar was full of loud noise people and the bar didn’t even have any snack peanuts, crisps chocolate or anything. We went up to our room for what we hope would be a good night’s sleep but unfortately a bell from the town hall rung every hour which kept us awake so if staying in this hotel forget about sleep. Check out was quick and fast but won’t be staying here again,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Lorri
I am very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us, I have no records of any such complaints made to us. Please contact me directly so that I can investigate into the issues you had. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
071 91 44000 - gm@sligocityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Loved the central location of this hotel. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great and good value for money. I look forward to visiting Sligo again and to using this hotel again I hope.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galway96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Galway 96
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us - All the team here @ Sligo City Hotel were delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hay All!

I drove my backside from my beloved CORK up to the Westport Festival at the end of July for live music & camping followed by a tour of the Mayo & Sligo coast for a few days of solo surfing.
I treated myself on my mini-break to a 2 night stay in the Sligo City Hotel (2nd & 3rd of July). It was blissful & well deserved after roughing it for a few days. The staff were so nice & down to earth. Very warming reception & found every one of them chatty, accommodating & helpful.

I used the hotel as a handy base so i could walk the city & have a few jars at night & head off exploring & surfing during the day. Gr8 location.

The room was perfect for me & i enjoyed two really good nights sleep which was needed. Walloped the breakie in the mornings & went off on my adventures for the day. I even treated myself to some fine dining on my last night in their Quays Restaurant. Yum.

Tapping into the wi-fi was very handy for me too so i could catch up on the rest of the world. I had my van with me wit all my gear & was relieved to know that parking was not an issue so i felt secure.

Sligo is a gr8 wee city. Have been up there plenty of times over the years. Stunning scenery & mega surf. Lots to do & see.

I would recommend a kip at the Sligo City Hotel if your planning to spend any time in Sligo.

Im fairly relaxed & it ticked all my boxes for what i expect from a hotel for the money i paid i consider it very good value.

Hope you have a similar experience. Just wish i had someone with me but the staff were good company & tuned into the fact that i was solo. Very impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick-P0WER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Patrick
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us - All the team here @ Sligo City Hotel were delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon if you are attending another Festival or taking advantage of the Surfing at the local beaches here
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Found myself in need of a little break away and so went to Sligo for the Yeats connection. Found this hotel online and it looked like a very good position in the town - I wasn't disappointed (it's right on the heart). And with parking (Sligo is pretty bad for parking I found).
It is a modern hotel with a comfy/classic feel and the rooms were of a very good standard. What makes it are the staff. The manager/assistant manager (never did figure it out) called Ann made us feel so welcome. I think she knew every guest! If you were waiting just a minute at the bar for someone else to be served, a staff member would jump on. And I don't think I had put the phone down by the time the ironing board I wanted arrived!
Sligo itself was busier than I expected and not as laid back as I imagined but a few minutes walk and you are away from the hustle and bustle. A short drive and you are in lovely countryside or at a majestic beach. So lovely. And you can immerse yourself in Yeats everywhere. For a fan like me that was a real treat.
I'd recommend Sligo and the City Hotel made it a lovely experience. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Jay
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us - All the team here @ Sligo City Hotel were delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay. I have passed your kind comments to Ann who is a member of the Management Team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again v soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ok to stay in for a quick city break but our room was too small & cramped. The bathroom was fair but the grout around the bath and toilet was dirty and the bath bar to help you in & out of bath/shower was loose on the wall. The bar & eating area was nice and the food ok but wouldn't stay in it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunny007055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Bunny
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us.
We do have a range of bedroom sizes in the Hotel - Singles, Twins, Doubles, Triples, Family size & Suites.
We did have an issue with the tiling & handrail in the Bathroom that you stayed in but I can assure you that this was fixed at the end of last week.
I would be delighted of the opportunity to discuss your stay with us if you would contact me
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manger - gm@sligocityhotel.com 071 914 4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked into this hotel for our wedding anniversary and had a lovely few days. The staff were very helpful, the room & bathroom were very spacious and nice decor. And it's a short walk from local restaurants/bars. The surrounding area in Sligo is well worth a visit also - altogether a wonderful wedding anniversary. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breoBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Breo
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us - All the team here @ Sligo City Hotel were delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope you had a fantastic wedding anniversary in Sligo & we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £62 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing