We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel is actually quite nice, the rooms are well done and comfortable. The noise level makes the comfortable bed useless. The clock next to the hotel rings every hour, (ten strikes at ten and so on). The bar patrons are loud as is the street noise. Earplugs would be a plus.

  • Liked — large bathroom
  • Disliked — noise,noise,noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank teamfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    131
    76
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
152
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

I booked a two night break through Roomex a Irish based company and was offered a rate of 120 Euros per night. Imagine my delight when I turned up to find out they were offering rates of 89 euros a night and I was not eligible for the discount. Mind you, even at 89 euros the place is still something of a rip off. The room was reasonably well presented. The plumbing in the shower room (no bath for 120 euros????) left a great deal to be desired. Poor water pressure and the most ghastly smell of fetid decay. As for the restaurant...the roast dinner consisted of micro-waved meat and catering pack vegetables. Hideous!

If you are going to Sligo, and it's well worth a visit give the Sligo City Hotel a miss!

  • Liked — The room was acceptable.
  • Disliked — Value for money. The food in the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, U.K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

My mom and I stayed at the Sligo City Hotel on the 21st June for one night. Our twin room was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee were provided (plus extra upon request, learned my caffeine-addicted mother), and our window overlooked a pleasant-looking street. We did not hear any street noise from our room. The staff were helpful (they let us leave our bags after we checked out, for example) and provided a basic but invaluable town map and pub recommendation (McHugh’s, on Grattan Street—we both had salads, possibly a weird choice for there, but they were not bad and relatively reasonably priced, like 8 euros or so I think). Hotel is conveniently located near train/bus station, but not literally next door, as I believe some reviewers implied—about a 5 minute walk. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which had a cheerful atmosphere, but the food was quite expensive and really not very good AT ALL. I would definitely give the restaurant a miss. Overall, though, the hotel was just fine. Would recommend.

  • Liked — proximity to train/bus station and clean rooms
  • Disliked — crummy restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed at the Sligo City Hotel for just one night. It was functional, but not with any real "extras" to speak of. The restaurant in the hotel, again, was ok, but nothing special. I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

Central location, very helpful staff - accommodated our group of 30 people and were able to get a group discount. spacious rooms, nice fry.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bar prices
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitz1NorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

We stayed here for one night in Feb. It's a nice clean hotel. It won't set the world alight but the rooms were a decent size and clean. The bar was friendly enough (not madly comfortable) and the food was nice. The reception staff were really friendly. I'd definitely recommend this hotel as a base for the shops (which are good) and the night life (which isn't great). I'd stay there again if i was ever in Sligo (which i won't be)!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No comfy seats in the bar
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Stayed in the Sligo City Hotel for a short two night stay.We were not expecting the Ritz given the cost of our two night stay... What we found was a clean if not some what dated hotel. A little disappointed at lack of resident car parking and also at the shower in our roow which was a little tempremental! The hotel was however in a great location and did fine for a spot to lie down in, in the evening.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank glengirlBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing