We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & Friendly Hotel”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“Cosy & Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Highly Recommend this Hotel if you are staying in Sligo. We were attending a wedding in a nearby Hotel and booked the Sligo City Hotel. A great find!! The Rooms are so spacious and bright, All the staff are extremely friendly. Hopefully we will be back soon again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Marie
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. It was delightful to receive your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again on your next visit to Sligo
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    135
    76
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
155
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a great weekend in this Hotel last weekend, myself and 3 friends stayed here, Staff, Food, Bedrooms all brill, the other big plus is that the shopping centre is directly accross the road we will be back soon,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Julie
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We are all delighted to receive your positive review. Quayside Shopping Center as you mention is a great attraction for many of our guests, Johnston Court Shopping Center is also less than 5 minutes walk from us here at the Hotel also. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
992 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited here this weekend. We got a great value deal online which included dinner on one night and breakfast. Unlike the reviewer before me, no one mentioned us being 'on the package deal' and it never seemed like we were treated any differently because of it. I do agree that the staff were quite disorganised at times but their friendliness made up for it. The rooms are not super modern but ours was spotlessly clean, which is the most important thing for me. We got parking in the car park on Friday and left the car all weekend. This hotel is perfect for a base in Sligo to allow you to explore the town and the surrounding areas. I will defintely stay here on my next visit to Sligo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Beanie
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. I am delighted to read you review. We do offer numerous attractive packages on our website some of which include dinner and we are delighted you enjoyed one of them. Keep an eye on our website as we are regularly changing and offering different packages. I have passed your kind comments onto the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ok I will start with the good things. This hotel is central to pubs and restaurants and has a free carpark.
Now the bad things. The carpets throughout this hotel needs a good hovering. Our room was 111 and we were meant to have a "river view room" well we had a view, but it was between two buildings (one which was just the roof) so if you are looking for more than that you will be disappointed. The carpet in the room was dirty and appeared not to have been hovered and around the legs of the bed and corners of the room had clearly not been cleaned recently at all. They're were stains on the blanket at the end of the bed, plus hairs that were not ours. There was also a hole in the wall which needs to be fixed. The toilet wouldn't flush consistently, you generally had to leave it for 10 minutes before it would flush a second time. And despite specifically asking for a non smoking room the hall and room itself stank of smoke.
All in all this is a basic hotel which we choose for location and for a stag party it would be fine but I wont be returning. I am sorry to stay I have stayed in better hostels which give you breakfast. We payed €75 for room only which considering it was midweek was a bit much. One other good thing, walking out the corridor to the car park smelled lovely pity the non smoking rooms weren't the same.

Room Tip: If you want a river view avoid room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear DKT2010
We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us. It was great to see the positive comments you made but concerning to read the negative feedback you have documented.

We do have river view bedrooms which are best seen from the third floor of the Hotel. These Rooms also have fantastic views of Ben Bulben. I can only apologise for the standards of Housekeeping you have experience upon your stay. If you look through the reviews that we have received on TripAdvisor and Booking.com you will see that this is not the norm and the standards of our Housekeeping are very high. Needless to say the hole has been fixed in the wall straightaway. We have taken the comments regarding the smell of smoke in your room very seriously. Despite their best efforts huge number of Hotels experience guests who continue to smoke in non-smoking rooms despite non-smoking signage being in place. Following a meeting with all Hotel Management we have made a decision to make the entire Hotel non-smoking as we feel that this is the only way we can stop guests smoking. We have put this in place following your stay and all our bedrooms smell fresh and smoke free.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail then please do contact me on 071 91 4400 or email – gm@sligocityhotel.com

Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in this Hotel last weekend Cant say enough about this place the staff are very friendly and will go out if their way to help you waitress serving breakfast is a gem. Highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Sligo at all

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Katie
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the Breakfast Staff. We hope to see you again the Sligo City Hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was a little nervous on the bus when talking to people about this hotel but they said it had recently reopened (?). The staff was quite friendly and the bed was comfortable. It's in a nice location very near to the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Greg
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. To answer your question we have not closed down of late. We hope to see you again the Sligo City Hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here by chance. We weren't planning on staying in Sligo, but the city's charm held us. We asked where to find a clean, convenient, reasonably priced room and several people recommended this hotel. We were very pleased, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Phil T
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here and also that we were recommended to you.
We look forward to seeing you back with us very soon
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing