We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sligo”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
louth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Sligo”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend .hotel is spot on for location room was a bit on small side but done us for what we needed for our stay the sat night we could not sleep for a party r somthing going on next to our room then the rattling of bottles early the next morning witch was I shame the other 2 nights being very peaceful even do we were on the road side of hotel . bar staff at night were friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madfish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Madfish
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made. It is a shame that your nights sleep was interrupted on your second night with us. I can assure that we receive very comments regarding noise.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to offer us your feedback and hopefully we shall see you back at the Sligo City Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    137
    77
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
159
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we recently stayed at the sligo city hotel. staff were very friendly and service was excellent. we stayed there in a family room, room clean and quiet. would stay again very central for night life and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Cat
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made. All the team were delighted to read your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you you back at the Sligo City Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Room 111 is a reasonable size and was clean, the lighting was very poor especially when my wife was trying to apply make up, the toilet flush still needs repair despite an earlier review mentioning it. The breakfast was very poor value it cost us 10 euros each and the bacon was more like leather, I dread to think what foreign tourists think of the so called "Irish Breakfast" here and despite complaining there was no offer to remove it from our bill although we were offered the chance to speak to the manager, however staff should have authority to remove the item as most people like ourselves do not really want to make a fuss. Having said all that, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well situated. If you want to go out to eat in the evening we would recommend Donaghy's which is a 10 min walk from the hotel, the food is to die for and is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Don't choose 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ian
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made. It was disappointing to read your other comments all of which I take on board. The Lighting in room 111 has been improved and the issue with the toilet resolved.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to offer us your feedback and hopefully we shall see you back at the Sligo City Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I heard mixed reviews about this hotel from family and friends, so I was not expecting a lot for the price paid which was a very reasonable room rate, 100 for a triple bed room (room only). The only downside was that the room itself was very warm at night. Location wise it was perfect, right across from the quayside shopping centre, shops and pubs. Myself and my friends were staying for the one night and it was very handy to have everything nearby. There was a free car park at the back of the hotel which was good, if a little small. The receptionist at the desk was very welcoming and professional and we were satisfied with the level of cleanliness in our room. The night porter was very pleasant also. However, the food served in the hotel let the hotel down. We checked in and decided to go for dinner in the restaurant and as it was after 8pm, we went to the restaurant in the hotel as most nearby places would have not been serving food and we were lucky to be able to order at that time. The food served was not up to standard, the toasted sandwich my friend ordered was black and the burnt side of the bread was turned the other way up so you could not see it at first glance. I ordered pasta carbonara and was not satisfied with the taste of it but after paying about 10 euro for it, I reluctantly managed to eat half of it. From the looks of the meal, it was thrown together from the days leftovers, there was way too much pepper on it and it was very greasy. Later on that night, I was feeling poorly after it and I could not sleep. I informed the receptionist in the morning who was very apologetic about it but I feel that the manager on duty should have acted in a more efficient and understanding manner and I was not taken seriously, there was no apology for inconvenience caused. This is the first time I have ever made a complaint as I work in a hotel myself and understand that it is not nice to be on the receiving end of a customer complaint. As a result, we went elsewhere for breakfast in the morning and it was much better value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMaryDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Mary
Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback. Thank you for the positive comments you mentioned. It was disappointing that you did not enjoy your meal with us - I have spoken to the Chef regarding the Meal and he was also disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal as our food is always of very high quality. I can assure you that all comments are taken on board and dealt with accordingly. I hope that you enjoyed your Night in Sligo that your Hotel has a very successful season.
I would be delighted to discuss your comments in further detail, please contact me on 071 91 44000
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Its refreshing to stay in a hotel which is not a modern sterilised box.

The staff are friendly and give a warm welcome from day 1, the hotel itself is slightly dated but full of character.
Breakfast is brilliant, best white pudding I've had, and the complimentary dinner that came with the deal we got was excellent.

We couldn't have asked for more, many thanks and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Andrew
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following our recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We were delighted to read your positive comments - I have passed your kind words onto the Team here and the Breakfast Chef.
We hope to see you back with us soon again.
.Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Ideal Hotel for exploring Sligo. We stayed here for 3 nights, there was a special deal on whereby a meal was included, great value!! Hotel is ideal for local shopping, We were lucky enough to experience great weather so spent our days at Strandhill beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Aaron
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following our recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. It was great you got to spend some time at Strandhill beach while you were in Sligo We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your break with us and that you would stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brekstad, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A good standard hotel in the middle of Sligo city. To our satifaction in every way - breakfast, rooms, surroundings, and service. And a short way to restaurants, etc. A place we will like to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Ragnar J
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following our recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your Holiday and that you would stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing