We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms could do with a bit updating really only a bit better than an hostel but not paying hostel prices. In saying that I'd go back if it was just to lay your head and for location alone. The rooms were quite and clean. Breakfast was ok, they ran out of several things and it wasn't busy or late. The breakfast had poor skills, as in getting tea and coffee and clearing tables around. We stayed at a weekend. Bar staff and reception staff were very nice and well trained compared to the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear AbmGalway
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sligo City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to see your positive comments. Please contact me on 071 91 44000 to go through your other points.
We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Sligo City Hotel.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights... Beautiful place, it's clean and well looked after... The rooms are spacious, the beds are so comfy, very clean and the view we had was lovely too, the service was great and the price was too...
( I went on foot to look for a b&b thinking it would be cheaper than hotels but I had a big smile when I found this hotel is cheaper, right in town, better looking, with great service.... Lesson learned not to assume things)

This is very extreme of me but in my 30 years of existence I can count in one hand a hotel I have been and they don't have a kettle with lime scale build up/discolouring... That's the only thing I would say as a negative...

Positive criticism: more marketing cos you probably have the best deal going in Sligo... Let it be known that you're placed at a good spot, you have great views, great service, great rooms etc

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Ben M
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sligo City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to see your positive comments - I appreciate your tips on marketing our Hotel more. We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Sligo City Hotel.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The photographers on this website is False. ... I booked my wedding anniversary here thi thinking we would have clean Spacious room to arrive to. I specified .. which I may add for a quiet room. . Which they Ask on booking. On arrival receptionist was Ok. . As I had booked online under any " other requirements". In which I had requested a late check out. She had No acknowledgement of this but had no problem in telling me I had to pay 20 euro after the check out time. . The evening and night just got WORSE from there on. An 18th birthday party Ruled this hotel. . AND NOT BY THE YOUNG PERSONS ATTEENDING IT. BUT BY THE STAFF THAT WERE OR IS EMOLYED ON THAT NIGHT. STAFF WAS SI OCCUPIED WITH THE COMINGS AND GOING OF THE 18TH PARTY DOWNSTAIRS THAT THEY FORGOT REAL PAYING CUSTOMERS IN BAR. A GOOD SLEEP IS NON EXISTING. .. FIGHTS ON DOOR ENTRANCE .. I CAN go on. PATHETIC EXCUSE FOR A HOTEL. . rooms does not look like pictures. Any person who may have query please feel free to contact me on above email.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Celene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Celene
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sligo City Hotel following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read your review and confused over your perception that the photographs on our website are misleading.
Please contact me on 071 91 44000 to go through your other points.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked online as the hotel seemed convenient to the centre of town - I was there to visit the races and catch the World Cup final. When we checked in (3pm) we came down hoping to have some food but the kitchen was closed - if you have people checking in at 3pm I would expect some food would be a smart option. Because of this we found another great place to eat and stayed there to watch the football, just something for the hotel to consider. Reception staff were great and the rooms are clean, comfortable and well priced for the facilities offered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OKANEK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Okane
Thank you for your recent feedback at the Sligo City Hotel. We were all delighted to read your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. It looks like you had a full weekend between attending the races and watching the world cup. We serve food daily in both our bar and restaurant from 6.30pm.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not the most modern hotel but the staff were wonderful.
The receptionists were very helpful on our arrival. We have 2 small children & the did all they could to have our rooms ready in super quick time it was very much appreciated.
Only downside is trying to locate the car park with sligos one way system so my advise it print out directions :-)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tinemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Tinemum
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us and also for your positive feedback. We were delighted to welcome your Family to the Hotel. The Hotel car park can be accessed from numerous different routes in Sligo so the one way system would not affect the accessibility.
We look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel again soon
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed recently for 2 nights.Had package which included breakfast and one evening meal.Had meal on Sunday evening which was very poor.Limited choice and poor quality.Breakfast the next morning was ok but my idea of fresh fruit is not tinned grapefruit and mandarin oranges! Second morning asked for poached eggs,got one egg and couldn't make any toast as they had run out of bread. On asking was told delivery hasn't come yet Also advertises croissants but again none there. Hotel itself is nice,very clean and comfortable with good spacious rooms and bathroom. It is in a good central area close to bars and restaurants

Room Tip: Top floor facing bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Margaret
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your evening meal with us on Sunday Evening nor did you enjoy breakfast. We do have croissants available every morning which are located beside our Breads. After investigating there were no issues with deliveries of bread of late so please be assured I will take your comments up the Restaurant Team.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to offer us your feedback and hopefully we shall see you back at the Sligo City Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend .hotel is spot on for location room was a bit on small side but done us for what we needed for our stay the sat night we could not sleep for a party r somthing going on next to our room then the rattling of bottles early the next morning witch was I shame the other 2 nights being very peaceful even do we were on the road side of hotel . bar staff at night were friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madfish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Madfish
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made. It is a shame that your nights sleep was interrupted on your second night with us. I can assure that we receive very comments regarding noise.
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to offer us your feedback and hopefully we shall see you back at the Sligo City Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing