We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, clean, friendly staff”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed 20 March 2009

stayed here for 3 nights on world rally weekend, last minute booking for a sudden bereavement, so they kindly squeezed me in, and as a lady travelling alone, the staff were great. bar food tasty. breakfast plentiful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Sligo City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel is actually quite nice, the rooms are well done and comfortable. The noise level makes the comfortable bed useless. The clock next to the hotel rings every hour, (ten strikes at ten and so on). The bar patrons are loud as is the street noise. Earplugs would be a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank teamfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I booked a two night break through Roomex a Irish based company and was offered a rate of 120 Euros per night. Imagine my delight when I turned up to find out they were offering rates of 89 euros a night and I was not eligible for the discount. Mind you, even at 89 euros the place is still something of a rip off. The room was reasonably well presented. The plumbing in the shower room (no bath for 120 euros????) left a great deal to be desired. Poor water pressure and the most ghastly smell of fetid decay. As for the restaurant...the roast dinner consisted of micro-waved meat and catering pack vegetables. Hideous!

If you are going to Sligo, and it's well worth a visit give the Sligo City Hotel a miss!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My mom and I stayed at the Sligo City Hotel on the 21st June for one night. Our twin room was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee were provided (plus extra upon request, learned my caffeine-addicted mother), and our window overlooked a pleasant-looking street. We did not hear any street noise from our room. The staff were helpful (they let us leave our bags after we checked out, for example) and provided a basic but invaluable town map and pub recommendation (McHugh’s, on Grattan Street—we both had salads, possibly a weird choice for there, but they were not bad and relatively reasonably priced, like 8 euros or so I think). Hotel is conveniently located near train/bus station, but not literally next door, as I believe some reviewers implied—about a 5 minute walk. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which had a cheerful atmosphere, but the food was quite expensive and really not very good AT ALL. I would definitely give the restaurant a miss. Overall, though, the hotel was just fine. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed at the Sligo City Hotel for just one night. It was functional, but not with any real "extras" to speak of. The restaurant in the hotel, again, was ok, but nothing special. I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Central location, very helpful staff - accommodated our group of 30 people and were able to get a group discount. spacious rooms, nice fry.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitz1NorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We stayed here for one night in Feb. It's a nice clean hotel. It won't set the world alight but the rooms were a decent size and clean. The bar was friendly enough (not madly comfortable) and the food was nice. The reception staff were really friendly. I'd definitely recommend this hotel as a base for the shops (which are good) and the night life (which isn't great). I'd stay there again if i was ever in Sligo (which i won't be)!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing