We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic”
Review of Sligo Abbey

Sligo Abbey
Ranked #8 of 121 things to do in Sligo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sligo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Interesting historical and religious site with a rich history. Guided tours help the visitor to understand the history and the uniqueness of this site for Sligo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    79
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackrock, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value for an hour of history”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The entry fee to this Abbey is only €3 per person which is a fantastic price to get to explore somewhere like this. You get a laminated sheet with details of around 15 interesting spots to find throughout the abbey.

I much prefer this as you can then explore the area at your own leisure and still learn about the history of the building.

There is lots to explore in the abbey and given a good sunny day you could explore for about an hour at your own leisure, which at €3 a head is an hour well spent.

Well worth a visit if your in Sligo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We did a self guided tour, which was easy as you are given a laminated writtedn directory and history. We found this to be enjoyable adn interesting and 3 euro is reasonable for entry. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundonald, Belfast.
Level Contributor
380 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent quite a while here as there's lots to see. Very pleasant staff who are happy to share their knowledge. A very interesting place, try not to miss it !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Historic Site”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Sligo Abbey can be a little hard to find even with the street signs, but well worth your time.
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, and gave us some tips about what to visit on our journey, as well as being very well-informed about the Abbey. Ask about Yeats and Bram Stoker, and you will get some great stories. Anyways, of all the abbeys visited, this was my favorite because of the attention to detail by the craftsmen. Hubby who is not religious took many pictures of the architectural detail, which is just his engineering mind at work. Take your time and look for those little details. We impressed the staff with our questions, and observations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finnbot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sligo Abbey also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Sligo Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing