We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of Ireland's best kept secrets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This will always be our favourite camping park in Ireland having discovered it by chance a few years ago. The village of Strandhill itself has everything one could possibly want and it never fails to please. It has the best of decent dining places to suit every pocket, surfing, beach and mountain walks, seaweed baths and cycling tracks. Watching the surfers from the promenade is always exciting at any time of the day depending on the surf.
On the camping site itself Tom and Neal are very professional and always helpful no matter what the query might be. Tom is regularly to be seen walking about at a fast pace checking that everything is up to the usual good standard.
One really has to stay on this site to discover the secret for themselves. Don't tell too many though please!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEEDLES2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stopped by to visit some friends who were staying in this park on Saturday last 20/7/13, We were told by an elderly member of staff who was working in reception that she would not let us through the barrier and if our friends wanted visitors then they would have to look after us themselves and come up to the barrier and let us in, she then told us to move our car as we were blocking the entrance, totally gobsmacked by her attitude, this person should not have been a 'front of house' member of staff and certainly should not be dealing with people. My advice is go somewhere else where your custom and money is appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Noel_D48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This picturesque caravan park is overlooking Strandhill beach where surfers from all around the world come to enjoy the best beach breaks in the country. Its prime location is only a 5 minute walk from the beach promenade where you can find a good selection of restaurants, pubs, seaweed baths, take-aways and newsagents.

The park itself has plenty of comforts; campers kitchen, games room, library, TV room and laundry room complete with washing machines, dryers and ironing facilities. A fob is needed to enter the shower and toilet area which is a plus. They also provide an outdoor surfer’s shower point as well as a special needs ensuite. There is internet access available around the park and a security barrier at the entrance.

Just outside the park there is a tennis court, young children’s play area as well as a zip wire and older children’s play-ground.

Everything you want is nearby. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would certainly recommend it to anyone. Come and see for yourself you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed here on a few occasions and the site has always provided great facilities. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The site has all the facilities that you would expect. The location is perfect nestled below the mountains and there is a great beach within walking distance which is the perfect place for surfing. Close by is Sligo town and the infamous Coney Island.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Who_KnowsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park has been an old favourite of our familiy for many years. We hadn't been there since Easter 2010 so we were impressed by the new facilities that had been put in during our absence. There is a new reception area complete with a TV room, a pool room and a very impressive camper's kitchen. The council have also installed a new playpark just right beside the caravan site which the kids loved.
We spent a lovely night in Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park and enjoyed it so much that my husband and I persuaded the grandparents to mind the kids so we could come back on our own for a night a few weeks later. We had a great night on that visit as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here on 18th July travelling trouygh on our cycle from Mizen to Malin head. We had stayed in a few campsites along the way and can say that strandhill really was one of the best, in terms of cleanliness, great location and excellent really friendly staff. Strandhill is to be highly recommended for its high standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosieposiepud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I returned here again in our camper. Once again we were delighted by this site. The manager Tom and his staff work very hard to maintain the excellent standards we experience at this site. The facilities and location are great. To be highly reccommended

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank DonegalFizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#22 of 24 in Sligo
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
2.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,727 reviews
2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Price Range: £30 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing