We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chestnut lawn is where it's at!”
Review of Chestnut Lawn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chestnut Lawn B&B
Ranked #9 of 26 Sligo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time B&B stayers, lovely first experience!! Friendly service, very clean, and accommodating. Close to town and great tips for sightseeing close by. The breakfast was the best we've had in Ireland. We'd be back in a chestnut!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannapetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Yup it felt like home. Our hosts were so friendly, and Harly (family dog) was quite entertaining. We had great relaxing chats and even picked up a few new Irish sayings. It was a 5 minute drive to town, great eating at The Strand. Delicious breakfast served in morning after a quiet sleep in a spacious very clean room. All in all a wonderful experience. Thanks Freddie and Christina.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Noreen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Freddy and Christine were wonderful hosts. The en-suite room was lovely. Very clean and beautiful. Their yard is immaculate and the food was excellent. It was a great base for me for my stay in Sligo. It was out near Strandhill beach and there were many sights to see very close by. They helped me figure out where to go and what to see. I felt so at home with them and in their beautiful B&B. One of my favorite places in Ireland!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Traipsingaboutsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was the best B&B we stayed in!!! It was a great location, not too far from downtown Sligo. Our room was clean and quiet, the bathroom spacious. The wifi worked great. The best thing about this stay was Christina and Freddy, the owners. They are the nicest people, so helpful and kind. They were full of great suggestions and just great conversation, too. The breakfast was also delicious!!! We liked that there was a menu to choose from with some different options. You can only have so many traditional Irish breakfasts in a row. ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at Chestnut Lawn. We went into Strandhill and had a great meal at the Strand. Our bed was great and our room was very clean. Toiletries are provided in the rooms, and we had TV and wi fi. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

On Freddy's recommendation, we climbed the "hill" to see Knocknarea, the massive megalithic tomb. The view was amazing from up there. But try to take the righ path up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

On arrival at Chestnut Lawn Freddie and Christina were great and fun hosts . This B & B located just outside Sligo located on main road was nice and quiet with lots of parking. The room was clean and breakfast to start your day was great. As we were travelling from Newfoundland, Canada the hosts were great in giving directions to some sights we would enjoy while staying in Sligo. Would highly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Christina and Freddy are the most gracious, helpful, and fun hosts we had in Ireland. The room was adequate and the breakfast the same, but those two really were the highlight. We had a most enjoyable evening outside with them: it felt like we had known them for more than a few hours. The location is good for either getting back into town, heading the other direction toward the water, and very close to sites such as Knocknarea and the Bronze Age Cemetery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulubird487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.7 mi away
Iorras Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Tree Tops Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Philmar House
Philmar House
#1 of 1 in Ballincar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Castledale
Castledale
#4 of 26 in Sligo
22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
2.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lawn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lawn B&B

Address: Cummeen, Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Hotel Class:4 star — Chestnut Lawn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnut Lawn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing