We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic links Course

What a wonderful experience! I got right off the train to County Sligo and went right to... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
TomHall
,
Long Island City NY
via mobile
One of the best

I had plans to visit this golf course since years. It was an amazing place not only the golf course... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2018
Erostegui
,
Getxo, Spain
Read all 35 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sligo
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
28
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting holes links course golf trip in great condition links golf golf course great links carne play golf local knowledge county sligo golfing clubhouse golfers tee handicaps gallagher
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I had never played a Links course and was a bit intimidated going in. The golf shop personnel was very helpful, it is a basic golf club, no fancy clubhouse, just what you need. It felt comfortable and there were Wednesday morning "retirees" playing who we could follow. That was key: it is a bit hard to figure out where to go next.

The price was 35E each for 18 holes, a bargain. There are quite a few holes that are on the ocean, or at least you can see and hear the ocean, making it a very enjoyable experience. We had lunch after the round and the food was good and very reasonably priced

We had made the reservation online.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank happytravelerfromnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

A great golf course to enjoy and experience a game of seaside links golf!

A gentle opening downhill Par 5 sets the golfer up for a great run of holes through to the end of the front nine. Everything you would expect to find and be challenged on a links course is found here – great tee shots over rough links grasslands, rippling fairways and fantastic undulating green locations. Holes 2, 3, 4 and 7 are set by the ocean and strand respectively and are a stand-out on the front nine.

The run of holes from the 13th to 15th definitely give cause for thought on the second nine. I would have liked to have had some local knowledge when teeing from the 13th Tee as I had no idea how much of the dunes to carry or what club to take – easily the most fun and challenging hole on the course.

A wonderful view from the 18th green and clubhouse waits as a reward for a fine walk on a brilliant and enjoyable links.

A very warm, welcoming and friendly staff rounded out my great experience at Strandhill. Please go visit and play the course if in the area.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

I must say this is worth the trip. Everyone from club pro to its members where welcoming. The course plays tight and it's a very classic links course. It's a must to play when on the area

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

What a wonderful golf course. I have played golf courses, many of them links, all over the UK and I have never experienced a course like this one. It is beautifully maintained, the sea is on constant display from nearly all the holes, golf courses don't come much more scenic than this, the people are warm and friendly and it is a true test of golfing ability. If you like target golf al a American then this is not for you. This is a true golfers course for the thinking player who appreciates a real challenge. If you are ever in the area make an effort to play this fantastic course, you owe it to yourself.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Golfken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Great links golf set in stunning surroudings. Wide diversity of holes with some real standouts. Good shots are a must,especially on the tighter holes which present real risk Vs reward choices. If you do pull it off the reward is incredibly satisfying. Golf at its most enjoyable.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 80bgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews