We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair price, good service, average food ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rugantino

Rugantino
Ranked #14 of 121 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair price, good service, average food ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I went here for lunch given it's high trip advisor rating. There was a set price lunch menu of just under ten euro which included a 9" pizza or pasta dish and a drink. The service was good and most tables were full. The atmosphere was very informal. The food was fine, nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    71
    21
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food in Sligo”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We turned up at Rugantino without a booking and were lucky enough to get a table (several people who also did not have reservations were turned away while we ate).

The food is pretty standard Italian pizza and pasta type stuff but it is all done very well. Very simple food with nice portion sizes and great flavour.

If you can get a table, I recommend this place and would happily eat there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Italian restaurant!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a wonderful meal here one evening during the Fleadh....and I couldn't praise it high enough!
The place itself is atmospheric and spotless..
The food was delicious...I would recommend the Fruti de la Mare pasta...my wife had a beautiful pizza with that authentic wood baked base(which I scoffed!)
The manager/owner and staff couldn't have been nicer...taking time to advise, explain and recommend...a real italian experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great family restaurant. Staff were very charming and entertained the young children. The place is small so you will have to book on a busy weekend night. Food was good. The burgers are homemade and the pasta is freshly prepared. Good selection of pizzas. The wine list is small but adequate

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant; wonderful service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've just returned from a trip to Sligo to take in the Fleadh Cheoil. The Fleadh is a big music festival so the whole town had been taken over by 1,000s of people. One of our concerns was finding somewhere good to eat as many restaurants will forego quality to increase profits during this exceptionally busy time.
Finding Simona and his team at Rugantino was therefore an absolute blessing. After an excellent meal off their reduced menu on the first night, our party of 8 arranged to go back the following night; Simona agreed to fit us in at 1930 and even allowed us to order "off-piste". 5 excellent Fillet Steak's and (I'm told) the "best Saltimbocca" awaited our arrival. Simona matched our meal's with some beautiful wine and managed to make time for us through all the madness of the Fleadh. The staff were happy, polite & attentive yet never over-bearing, Perfetto!
We had kids with us as well and the menu catered for the whole party. It's only a small venue, the fact the kitchen is bigger than the dining area speaks volumes for the passion they put into their food. We ended up eating here for the 3 nights we were in the town, the quality remained the same throughout.
Only hope we can visit again during a normal time and try the A la Carte menu!
Bravissimo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tallstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rugantino also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Rugantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing