We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

just back from staying 3 nights at the Glasshouse Sligo - very good hotel in a great location
food was very enjoyable - I have to say the Staff were very efficient and polite at all times - very willing to help with any queries.
We cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear mairebeth

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon. I have passed you kind comments onto the rest of the team for their appreciation also.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    549
    257
    92
    72
See reviews for
155
871
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rep of Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Central location, nice clean hotel, lovely staff, very friendly. Nice quiet place to stay. Rooms very comfortable especially the ones with the balcony onto the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Lireland

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon. I have passed you kind comments onto the rest of the team for their appreciation also.

I note that you were here in Sligo on business; if you have not got a corporate rate agreed with us already for future stays, we would be delighted to review this with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at The Glasshouse for two nights in July 2011. We booked a deluxe room as it included the breakfast and were advised it was a slightly larger room and over looking the river. The room was nice and an adequate size, nothing special. The funky colours suit the style of the hotel however they appear to have gotten grubby with usage. The room was clean but attention to detail was missing, i.e the edges of carpet were not cleaned, the duvet cover was ripped at the seams and tea, coffee and milk sachets were not replaced for the second morning. Overall I feel this hotel lives off its location as nothing else sets it apart from other hotels. The service was good and the staff were friendly but again nothing you wouldn't expect in the hospitality industry. I definitely would not rate this hotel as being 4star. With a few improvements this hotel could be so much better as it has the best location being right on the riverside.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are on the riverside, standard room face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear JenniBelfast

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted by your kind comments on the great service and assistance provided by the staff during your stay at the hotel, indeed I have passed this and the comments on the problems encountered onto the team for their review. I recently took over as General Manager at the hotel and we have been reviewing and implementing various procedures and processes in order to improve the standard of product and service we deliver on a daily basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and indeed should you wish to provide further details of your stay, I may be contacted directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed at The Glasshouse last weekend and found that it was good value for money. It is is a great location that is on the doorstep of town.

The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable, I had breakfast included in my room rate - which was excellent. I didn't manage to venture down until nearly closing time but everything was still available and fresh.

The staff are very friendly and informative on what is going on in the local area and were happy to suggest activities and places to visit during my stay.

On the Saturday night the hotel was full with a couple of hen parties staying but you couldn't hear any noise from the room or even feel over crowded due to the maximum occupancy.

I would highly recomend The Glasshouse and will be staying there again next time I visit Sligo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyP6850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear TiffanyP6850

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon. I have passed you kind comments onto the rest of the team for their appreciation also.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights hoping to see the town and visit this 4* hotel.We booked a deluxe room-as we were hoping for more comfort and a larger room.The weekend we stayed in the hotel it was in cold weather.We were out after a day shopping and when we returned to the room it was freezing.We called housekepping and they said they would bring us up an extra duvet and they did.But it was so cold our teeth were chattering.So we decided to take a visit down to reception and the girl there was so nice but she told us that all her heaters had been taken out by other hotel guests and she had none left.So we then asked for more blankets and had a hot drink at the bar.The hotel room itself was clean and spacious and had lots of glass from floor to ceiling which is great in warm weather but we will know for again not to book a hotel with as much glass-we never knew that a hotel where you shold receive comfort and above all warmth could be so uninviting.The bar staff downstairs were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was a buffet and it was very nice to look out onto the river in the morning.This hotel is great for looking around sligo in the summer but do not book it in the winter!!!

Room Tip: Book hotel when its warm-deluxe rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorcha1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear sorcha1700

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your stay with us here in Sligo last November.

We were delighted by your kind comments on the great service and assistance provided by the staff during your stay at the hotel. Indeed while I was not at the Glasshouse during the cold spell, I am aware of the issues experienced nationwide by the uncharacteristic weather. We have been reviewing some procedures in order to minimize impact where possible in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and indeed should you wish to provide further details of your stay, I may be contacted directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We originally booked two nights at The Glasshouse thinking that Sligo would be a central place to tour the far northwest part of Ireland. We found the city and hotel both disappointing...so much so that we shortened our stay to one night and moved twenty km south. Sorry to say it, Sligo is not a very exciting place to visit. It lacks the charm of other Irish towns that we visited and seems a bit run down. We booked the Glasshouse thinking that it would be a nice modern hotel in the center of it all. It is central, but that's about it. The hotel seems shabby as well...worn out furniture, dirty carpets, scuffed walls, threadbare towels...it is a lot more like a three star or two star hotel...definitely NOT four star. We only ate breakfast in the Kitchen restaurant...it was fine for generic standard fare...nothing special, nothing particularly Irish about it. More like you would expect in a three star business hotel in Warsaw or Leipzig where you have to go on business as opposed to some where you choose to go on vacation.

I would recommend that tourists skip this hotel...and Sligo City...there are much better places to visit in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52MAN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear 52MAN52

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us here in Sligo. We do you had a pleasant trip around Ireland and a safe journey back to New York.

I was disappointed to read that Sligo had not appealed to you as a vibrant city. We have just finished the Jazz Festival in Sligo and further festivals are scheduled over the coming months with loads of other areas to explore, from Strandhill, Rosses Point and Yeats Country. The Glasshouse Hotel itself is indeed a modern and vibrant property. Feedback such as you have provided will assist us in reviewing where we should make changes or adapt going forward.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in further detail, and may be contacted directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We'd stayed in an assortment of rentals, B&B's and hotel, but the Glass House was special. Forget what any review says about the "garish" color schemes. It's funky, and clean. Comfortable and with a great central location overlooking the river. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a large top floor room with two roller beds for the kids and there was plenty of room, and the view was spectacular, at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-ed52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Travel-ed52

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back to Ireland and the Glasshouse Hotel again soon. I have passed you kind comments onto the rest of the team for their appreciation also.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing