We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at the Glasshouse Hotel on 19th November, the hotel itself is designed nice and the staff were friendly and pleasant. However there were a couple of things I would make changes to to make it a higher star hotel. Firstly the car park is terrible, we had to drive around several floors several times and then sit and wait for someone to move from a spot so we could park as the carpark also allows the public to use their carpark, I think it would benefit the hotel and their guests more to have a floor for guests only and then if they wanted to make money from the public perhaps use another floor for this. Secondly the door of the bedrooms doesn't shut right, you have to actually bang the door which is both noisy and disruptive to other paying guests, there was varoius rooms occupied by a number of girls on our floor which resulted in doors banging throughout the night as they called to one anothers rooms and knocking on doors etc.. Another thing was even though there was two of us staying in the room, there was only one set of towels, the other set left in a cupboard, I do feel the towels should be left out for each paying customer. Despite the above minor changes I made on the hotel, I would recommend the hotel and stay there again, though I would again book via an American website as I got the hotel 40euro cheaper than what the hotel are offering. We ate at the restaurant which was really lovely food and the waiter was very polite and friendly. Also had room service breakfast which again was really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view... our view looked onto a roof which was not good considering the other views t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Click-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    511
    243
    90
    68
See reviews for
145
801
61
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Had a great time here and its location is perfect. The bar was the good also and has a good atmosphere. Would stay here again if I came back to Sligo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear elmo06

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in the Glasshouse last month, having booked it on a whim a month previously. It's a nice place to stay in but with a few caveats.

Firstly, as a few have mentioned, it's not quite four star - it's a solid three. We've stayed in four and five star hotels and neither would serve such a low-quality breakfast - rubbery scrambled egg, bland sausages and watery beans. Not to mention the awful orange juice (from concentrate and tasting like it was diluted), the cheap bread and generally-odd decor of the restaurant area. But strange decor and a cost-cutting breakfast are all things that can be changed very easily.

Despite this weird decor extending to our room (including a very ugly print of a woman staring at us all day and night with her big teeth - photo attached), it was great otherwise; a standard one by all accounts but with a massive, comfy king-size bed and plenty of room. We stayed in our room for a while as the weather was atrocious on our first morning and it was a nice place to be, with great views. The bar is popular with locals and always seemed buzzing. And the bar food was also quite good (although the chips with my wife's burger tasted of old oil - she said the burger more than made up for this).

The Glasshouse can always improve though. As a design, it certainly makes the most of the mighty Garavogue river which gushes past at enormous speed. The underground car park is the only thing I'd worry about; it's very awkwardly-shaped and has some odd parking spots (expect to parallel park underground, for example). It also has far too many disabled spaces; all were unused when we arrived on a Friday night, so we had to wait for someone to leave so we could park. With only around 30 spaces per floor, are 4 huge disabled spaces per floor really needed (especially when two are almost as far from the lifts as possible)? They also have a third underground level that's unused/unopened and it's clearly needed.

We didn't have much contact with the staff but they seemed great, our room was cleaned completely in the time we took breakfast on the first morning. Anything else are just niggles; wi-fi isn't free and isn't cheap, the lifts are incredibly-slow and seem to stop at every floor requested whilst going up and down (meaning they're constantly at capacity) and the toilet flush was very weak.

But I had a lot of sympathy for the place all the same. Addressing all of these items, taking a bit more care of the furnishings (I agree with other guest comments about the slightly unkempt nature of some areas) and spending a few quid on decent food would make this hotel pretty much unbeatable. It's a striking building, Sligo is a lovely part of the world and we got a great offer for the weekend. I hope when we return, things will have improved.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear Joe835

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

The feedback you have provided is quiet important to both us and indeed other guests as it provides a different perspective on how we are performing. Breakfast is an area where we have made some further recent changes to improve the product and offering, ensuring a consistent strong choice of items and all of strong quality.

In relation to the wi-fi in the hotel, there are no charges for this service; and also our wired internet connection is also complimentary to all guests of the hotel. The wi-fi service is only available in the ground floor areas of the Hotel. Our wi-fi access points would show on your device as “Glasshouse”. An additional signal is also strong in the area for “BT Open zone” and while it is not a direct hotel service, connection through it would be chargeable.

We look forward to welcomming you back again in the very near future. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here for three nights Thursday to Sunday. It's modern, it's clean, and it's very centrally located, right on the river in the heart of Sligo town. They're also doing some good deals at the moment :-)

Found the staff here very very helpful, whether checking in, or at the bar, or whatever. Good atmosphere in the place, and the bar area that looks out on the river and the town centre is pretty cool. Tends to be buzzy (well, was the weekend we were there), and a nice atmosphere.

Decorated in a slightly pop art and funky style, the rooms were late, clean, and very comfortable. Good showers.

Would recommend for any trip to Sligo, and there's underground parking included if you're a resident.

Room Tip: Try getting one that looks out over the river....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear sos100

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon. I was delighted to note that you got a good deal on your stay, indeed one of our aims is to ensure that we provide value to all our guests whether staying over or just calling in for lunch.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here as it was central, with its own car park, free to guests, and looked good from the website. The overnight stay proved to be excellent all round, very good clean and warm accomodation, excellent food from the bar with free wi-fi and friendly staff. I can see that it would suit business people or for leisure/touring given its location in the region and town of Sligo. Knock airport is approx. 30mins away so conveinient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QDaveGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear QDaveGee

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We were on a one night stop over and we were so glad we chose the The Glasshouse. The room was class and it was spotless!!! We had lunch when we arrived in the bar, no complaints. Later that evening we ordered room service and our meal was Top Notch. Overall it was most enjoyable and the staff were lovely. Highly reccomand The Glasshouse. xxx

Room Tip: We booked the delux room with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiepangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear AngelaTipperary

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon. The comments and feedback you have provided are most important as they provide an insight to ourselves and other customers of how we are performing.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent 1 night here 3 years ago and recently came for another night as my husband had won a voucher which also included a meal and wine. I assumed we would get a small room since we had a voucher. I was in for a surprise! We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor, really spacious and funky decor. Bed was so comfy. The meal was fantastic, great choice and good service. Breakfast was top class also.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aoifecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Aoifecoco

Thank you for taking the time to review the Glasshouse Hotel following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and indeed it was our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel. I have passed you kind comments onto the rest of the team for their appreciation also, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@theglasshouse.ie.

Regards

Brian O’Farrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing