We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Classhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Classhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The staff at the Glasshouse were welcoming, helpful and nothing was a bother. We were visiting a relative very early and asked if we could take our breakfast with us, they gave me a box and asked if we wanted to take tea and coffee also, which we really appreciated. Our room was beside a lift (511) but we didn't hear a thing from inside the room which was great. The colour scheme was bright and the bathroom and room very clean with nice shampoo. If I could improve anything I would have more luxurious duvets/pillows but saying that they weren't stingy with the heat so it's not a must, I would have also liked the shower to be stronger and a mini bar. The view from our room was beautiful and it was so nice not to have to get taxis as we walked to the Garvogue which had an excellent live band- the Glitter Bugs, but there was a great choice of pubs and live music on the doorstep of the Glasshouse.

The breakfast was lovely- fresh fruit, walnuts, slections of breads and cheeses and a fab cooked breakfast. Free parking is fantatsic! We would stay again for sure :)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room as there was a birthday function so perhaps if you were lower you may hear noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emka20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    517
    247
    90
    68
See reviews for
146
807
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is a review of the bar and bar food area only, I'm a local in Sligo and and have been eating in the Glasshouse for years and have always liked going there. However in the past year or two, the place has gone down a lot.

It's now very jaded and tired looking. The food quality has decreased while the price has increased. The staff are for the most part poorly trained and unprofessional (there are one or two old hands who are good).

It says it all that I was looking to get lunch one day over Christmas just gone in Sligo, I couldn't get a seat in any cafe I went to but when I went to the Glasshouse, I had my pick of seats. Custom there has dropped off a huge amount and it's for a reason.

I'd like the manager to read this and do something, I'm really disappointed as I used to love going in to the Glasshouse for lunch or a cup of tea, but it's just not the same any more. I'm especially surprised at the unprofessional staff as surely with all the unemployment these days, you could find better employees than the current ones? And with the decreased business at the moment, I think you would have extra time to train them properly?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wessexw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Hotel was spotless, the staff were so friendly
We stayed in the delux suite as this was the only one available it was a bit pricey in my opinion
at 150 euro, but with balcony and the river was quite nice
Would deffinetly stay there again,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noeleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here recently,and have to say this is a top hotel.Staff were very friendly and food was excellent

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel in June whilst competing in the nearby Rosses Point Triathlon. I thought the hotel was average and little more. The rooms were fine and clean, The dining experience was poor though. We ordered dinner and for the prices we expected much more than pub standard fare. We raised this with the duty manager and he was excellent but it still left a taint on the stay.

Although I am rating it as average I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here on Friday nite with my hubby. This is a fabulous hotel in a great location, right in the middle of Sligo town overlooking the river which we had a lovely view of from our room on the 4th floor. Bedroom was very large & spacious. The breakfast was superb & staff on reception were most pleasant & helpful. I highly recommend this hotel & will definately be returning in the near future for a longer stay :) :) :)

Room Tip: Room 428, great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here on Saturday night with my Husband. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist called Kelly, who was very welcoming, efficient and helpful. The room over looked the banks and is ideally situated in the heart of Sligo. It was clean and comfortable. We headed out for the night and on our return to the room it was a little cold. It would do no harm to put the heat on at midnight for an hour instead of first thing in the morning. Any staff we encountered seemed friendly and willing to help except the breakfast staff. We were very disappointed by breakfast as there were no eggs except scramble to order. We ordered tea that never came and in general were pretty much ignored. I know 1030am are last orders for breakfast(the time we came), but still, all in all it should be just the same as if it were 7.30am Overall it’s a good hotel but need to improve on the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckchuck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing