We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, stylish hotel with great staff.”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Edinburgh - we chose the Glasshouse because of it's location and the comment of previous reviewers. Certainly lived up to expectations - the room was on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking Calton Hill, clean and tidy and very (almost a little too!) warm. The staff were without exception very pleasant, helpful and professional, the bed comfy and a fine en-suite with all mod cons including underfloor heating. Best of all were the breakfasts, served in the Observatory, a large room with great views. My partner is celiac, and they went out of their way to provide gluten-free options. Continental was lovely, the eggs benedict I had on the first morning were perfect. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beulah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for one night. The river view (upgrade of 20 euros) was beautiful ... but the room was decked out completely in orange! I understand trendy, but honestly, this was a bit much. It wasnt restful at all. The lack of internet access was annoying... and the carpark and lifts were a nightmare. The Glasshouse looks dramatic in the photographs but from the entrance and inside, it doesnt have any flair. Breakfast was only OK ... hot food did not look enticing, though they made a good latte and had some tasty croissants. The staff were a mix between very hard working (there was one young woman on reception who seemed to be there and taking care of people all the time) ... and lazy and indifferent (one young man who ignored people waiting to check out and was chatting with his friend on the phone). Expensive for a so-so place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldFoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Glasshouse through Grabone for 1 night, this included breakfast and a bottle of wine and a double delux room with riverside view. When i rang to book receptionist stated that when we were checking in that we could select white or red house wine on arrival, and choose to have in room or with dinner if we decided to dine in the hotel. All sounded great.

Arrived...eventually, directions on website are not very accurate so ended up stuck in a one way system kinda lost for a while. Not very well signposted either.

Checked in and actually had forgot about wine and didnt ask at this time, was given a standard room WITHOUT a riverside view, and there was a bottle of red wine already in the room waiting I dont even like red wine, but he did so i wasnt gonna argue.

Free internet access if u attach laptop but not through wireless.??

Had a beer each when in the residents bar we got back from our night out and offered to pay then but said couldnt take the money as it was too late and would charge to the room, asked how much that would be and they said around 9 euros for the two.

Breakfast, lovely if it hadnt of been for waiting around for eggs for 10 mins, by the time i got scrambled and poached eggs the rest of my fry was cold.

Checking out, waited to pay for 20 mins while staff member chatted about the weather to a friend or regular customer, when we finally did get to pay they charged us 81 instead of 69,, receipt was not itemised at all so i have no idea what they over charged us for. i was so bored waiting to pay i didnt take heed of what she charged me until i was halfway home, bad mistake.

All in all i wont stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We travelled here by train in October. The hotel is about 10 mins walk away from the station and is pretty well signposted. The place itself is fine - nothing out of this world but ticks all the boxes for a 4 star hotel. The lunch menu is interesting and very reasonable - the 3 C's (chips, cheese and chillie) and curry are well worth a try.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmeathPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband & I had a fantastic weekend break in Sligo. The hotel is gorgeous. Very modern & clean and very central to everything.It is quite difficult to find the parking though as only one sign and we actually drove around 3 times before a girl who worked in the hotel told us how to get in to the carpark.The room had a balcony overlooking the river and it was lovely and peaceful listening to the river flowing at night.It was a very quite hotel at night and we slept very well both nights.The food in the bar was just as good, if not even better, than the restaurant.We had bar food friday night for a great price of €13 per person for a main course with a drink of your choice.Dinner on the Saturday night was included in the price and was taken from a Valentines Menu the hotel were offering of €35 per person and it stated complimentary bottle of wine which we availed of. When we checked out they did try to charge us for wine but when I said we had been given the Valentines Menu which stated complimentary bottle of wine they didn't make too much of a fuss about it and said that was fine.The hotel is located in such a central spot. We had a great night listenting to a live band in the Garavogue Pub on the Saturday night and it is just a short skip to this pub from the hotel.Around the corner from the Garavogue is a little gem of a pub with the perfect pint called The Snug. The barman, Neill, was so nice and friendly and chatty and made our stay in sligo that little bit more personal and would definately make us want to go back and stay in this hotel again, if not just for the pint and the craic in The Snug.Neill was very helpful telling us where to go and what not to miss for the weekend. Definately a little gem of a pub you should not miss. We also found McHughs Pub at the end of the main street to have amazing lunches and reasonable prices.The only bad thing I would say about the hotel is the shower in our room anyway was useless. No power at all. For a hotel of this calibre I would recommend they look into power showers! Otherwise its a great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Here is my honest review of The Glasshouse.

We went as a couple and arrived on Thursday for a 2 night break.

CARPARK

Finding the hotel carpark was a little difficult at first as there was only one sign, even with sat nav proved somewhat hard to navigate to. Once inside all levels of the underground carpark lead to the hotel reception which was excellent.

RECEPTION

When the lift doors open at level 0 to reception it was beautfiul, nice area very modern with a lovely light feature above the main desk. Checking in was ok nothing exceptional I dont know if it is because we are a young couple but wasn't much communication there really. All in all though reception ok. We were given are room key and explained when breakfast was served but no mention if we wanted help with our bags which we didn't but thought it is normal for hotel to ask, at least in the hotels we have been in.

ROOM

Our room was on the third floor, funky carpets in the corridors with an assortment of wacky paintings on the wall, wacky but kind of fun.. Entering the room it was very clean great size for the money and a bonus was the balcony outlooking to the water outside which was beautiful and very very relaxing to listen to. Great flatscreen television and all the other items that are normally available, one thing however tv couldn't view Channels 4,5, ITV2.

There is plenty of storage space in the room itself, problem arose when I couldn't connect my laptop to Wi-Fi for internet access, I telephoned to reception and asked them if it was free and they said yes after connecting to the Wi-Fi it asked me to pay a charge which was a let down and I couldn't do any work.

GENERAL

Everything was fantastic until night came. We thought that being away on a Thursday that everything would be quiet, how wrong could we have been.

At around 12 there was stomping loud noises up and down the corridor, then a while after that, shouting followed a while later with a racket of noise from what sounded like pipes knocking. The walls are practically paper thin you can hear doors banging and footsteps in the corridor from your bed this was the first problem.

I awoke the next morning to rashes down each sides of my arm, I don't know if this was due to the shower gel that was in the bathroom or the bed sheets themselves but I was terribly itchy which didn't help my sleep either.

All in all from the 2 nights that we stayed there I got between 2-3 hours sleep and my girlfriend got maybe 5-6 hours sleep.

Room Tip: Choose room with a wooden balcony, ours was tiled but saw next doors was wooden looked bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avanyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Wow! the rooms with the balcony over the swollen Garavougue are just amazing!!
Really enjoyed our night here! Free parking, wonderful staff, great breakfast, short walk to the lovely pubs and restaurants of Sligo!!
Best Hotel in Sligo for a night away!!!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing