We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, central location, package dealade it good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good hotel, central location, package dealade it good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed here for 2 nights midweek march 2012. package was 2 nights b and b and one evening meal for 2 for €170 total. great value, large room. the inclusive evening meal and breakfast were very good, excellet service by danielle. only fault is room did not have real air con, it has a dial but does not go below 20 degrees c. no leisure facilities either. a good clean central hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOBrien_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    517
    247
    90
    68
See reviews for
146
807
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I spent just one night here with my husband as we were going for a night out in Sligo. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the girl at check in changed us to a different room that was ready which was great as it let us get rid of our bags. The room was basic and on the small side for the price but ok for one night and it was clean. As it is right in the middle of the town it is noisy so wouldn't recommend it if you were looking for somewhere to relax but is great if you are heading out to the pub as you can walk everywhere. Free car parking was available but not a great car park as its not private so anyone can use it. Overall good enough stay but if I was going to Sligo for just a night out again I probably would look for somewhere cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiejo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level Contributor
211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed for one night and really enjoyed this hotel which features bright decor (may not be to everyone's tastes), good food and considerate service. Free parking in the underground car park and a central location which means that you don't need to drive unless you want to explore the surrounding countryside and beaches.

The room was excellent, being bright and airy with a balcony looking out onto the river which was nice. Internet access and everything you need to make the stay comfortable. The cod at dinner was delicious on a bed of champ with crab meat. Staff were friendly and courteous, would definitely go back and recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markusTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal,Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked two rooms for a Friday night .. Each 79 euro for 2 people including breakfast .. So reasonable including free parking . First room was a twin and the view over the river was fab .. Floor to ceiling windows and a balcony .. Bit orange in decor but nice detail with lobby to bedroom free body lotions and other potions ... Sparkling water etc .. Nice . The carpet in the corridor after getting out of lift was extremely swirly .. Giving a drunk like effect .. Not inviting and overly designed . The other bedroom was double room ... Teeny high level window ... I had to get on chair to look out ... Just poor design ... Could see river to right .. But obviously a challenge to do so . Ok so some rooms dont have a view ... But guess what .. No free lotions or potions or sparkling water ... No excuse for that at same price . Breakfast was fine but wish hotels like this could extend breakfast times to a bit later ..as others do ... reception staff really friendly though .. So recommend but maybe request room with view and maybe management should ensure all rooms have the same extras

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Went with friends to Sligo for a weekend break and stayed at the Glasshouse. The photos and reviews on the Web were very good and unlike a lot of other Hotels, the Hotel and the rooms were as portrayed on their site. Located in the center of the Town, close to Bars and Shops. The room was really big and a big plus was the view overlooking the River. Decor was modern and trendy. Our friends room was located on a corner and had a great big balcony. Bathroom was well equipped even had a hot towel rail. Breakfast was good and Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. We dined in the Restaurant and the Bar, food was very nice, good presentation and not expensive. Overall our stay was very pleasant, a great Hotel with pleasant, efficient staff. Will certainly be recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A group of us stayed at The Glasshouse recently. It is right in the centre of Sligo overlooking the river. I had never stayed in Sligo before and was pleasantly surprised by the choice of shops, bars, restaurants etc. The staff in the hotel are friendly and efficient and looked after us really well. We ate in the bar on arrival and had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night. The menu choices were great and, although there was a large crowd in the restaurant, the service was superb. Everyone in the group enjoyed their meal. Breakfast, also, was really good- again served by a well trained staff who cope very well with being busy.
Just to mention, we had a great sleep too, none of the ambient noise you sometimes get in hotels.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teach41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Couldn't believe our luck on checking on, got a free upgrade to a room with a balcony looking over the river!
The rooms are lovely, very modern throughout the hotel and spacious.
The hotel was very busy the whole time we were there, but the staff remained pleasant and helpful.
We opted for room service for breakfast at additional cost of 5 euro, large selection of stuff, ontop of the cooked breakfast there was choice of cereals, fruit juices plus kippers, french toast and fruit platter, you could have those on top of breakfast.

When we checked out we noticed that there were drinks on our bill that we had not ordered, they pulled the receipt out and it wasnt our name signed off it, waitress removed it from our bill insatntly.

DO NOT PAY FOR INTERNET THROUGH THE TV, there was a problem with our broadband cable which could not be fixed on Saturday so I asked the receptionist if we could use the internet through the tv for free, which he agreed to straight away (usually 10 euro per night) It is dreadful, could not do anything with it, the screen setup is terrible....avoid!

Would def stay in this hotel again, and we got it at a bargain price on alpha rooms

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing