We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel , great food and nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel , great food and nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

stayed for 2 nights over easter, lovely hotel , needs the carpets changed, staff were very nice, The food was excellent , although some might find it pricey, I always found it hard to get a seat in the bar, it was always busy. The bar staff were great but the Budweiser was horrible in both the upstairs and downstairs bar,and wine at €5.50 a glass from a large bottle is a little pricey.I asked for a cocktail in the bar upstairs and was told to go downstairs and ask, and when I did, the barman had to go upstairs to make it... strange, The hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of sligo and although the view from my room was a wall (not good for the price). I STILL LIKED The Glasshouse and will return

Room Tip: no views from 507
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Sales Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear DublinWillow,

Thank you very much for your recent review after your stay here at The Glasshouse. I was glad to read that you thought our food was excellent and the staff very nice.
I'm sorry to read that you did not have a view from your room, but unfortunatly not all of our rooms have River Views, maybe you could request one the next visit you have with us.
We have contacted our drinks supplier and had them come in and have a look at our Budweiser tap, this matter appears to be resolved now.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Sharon Clancy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    509
    243
    90
    68
See reviews for
145
800
61
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Glasshouse is a perfect place to stay if you want to be in the middle of everything. From the second you walk out the door you are beside shops, pub and restaurants. The rooms are modern and clean, the beds are comfortable, the view from teh Penthouse is Amazing, the food is delish and the staff are prompt! An extra bonus is the parking is FREE!! I do love staying in this hotel when I am in Sligo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river, you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Sales Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Happy0ut,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about your recent stay with us at The Glasshouse.
I was delighted to read that you loved our modern clean rooms, comfortable beds and amazing views along with the delicious food we have on offer and our friendly staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are travelling to Sligo.

Kindest Regards,

Sharon Clancy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel over the weekend. It was a nice hotel. Right in the middle of the city centre it was really close to all the shops and restraunts. The room was lovely and clean, view of the river and a little balcony. Beds were so comfortable as well. Staff were so friendly and always obliging to help you out with any question you may had. All staff were professional and I really enjoyed my stay there. We got room service and we had to pay a surcharge of €5 which I thought was a little unusual. On the second night the room was really warm but I could not fault the hotel nice stay and it was nice to have a bit of comfort on a visit home to see family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conorourke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

First of all... the car park is free. That never happens anymore. I was very excited to find this fact out.
The location of this hotel is wonderful, it's right on the river. A short walk across the street and you've already made it halfway to a large amount of pubs and restaurants and shops.
Our room was much larger than I was expecting, and the green carpeting really wasn't as bad as I had originally thought it would be. No free wifi in the rooms, but complimentary internet hook-up.
The night bartender has the highest level of tolerance I have ever seen, I was impressed by his ability to not scream at some of the people coming back from the pubs. ;)
I loved this hotel and I'll stay here again if I have the chance. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our family stayed for one night. Everything was perfect, staff was very friendly and helpfull. Best place to stay in Sligo, loved it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybeewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the centre of Sligo for 2 nights. A very bright modern hotel located on the banks of the river. Rooms are very spacious clean and bright. All in all a great place to stay within easy walking distance of restaurants and theatre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lubo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is overpriced. Our room was stuffy and windows were sealed shut and we would have appreciated some air from the Garavogue river beneath. The staff were efficient,friendly and cheerful. The decor was dizzyingly dated. The breakfast was limp , tired and inadequate at 9 o clock so get up EARLY! Views outstanding of scenic rushing river and it is a shame that the Hotel doesn't complement its setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing