We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great stay at this hotel. This was our first trip to Ireland and to Sligo. On arriving at Hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Had a lovely large room overlooking the town.
Breakfast was just brilliant as were the bar meals.
All staff were very friendly and helpful and have to give a speciial mention to Niall (one of the managment staff) - hats off - your doing a fantastic job.
Would love to stay there again - hopefully we will manage another trip to Ireland before too long.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Millie101
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you were made feel so welcome on your first trip to Sligo. We have passed on your kind comments to our staff especially Niall. We hope that you make a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    543
    255
    90
    71
See reviews for
154
851
67
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay in this fabulous hotel in the centre of sligo. It is close to all amenities. We had a great view from the room. Buffet breakfast is incredible and bar food is great. The staff are very friendly and it is so refreshing!! I went to reception to ask for more tea/coffee for the room and I was barely in the door when the Manager turned with more!! Well done and thanks to all the staff.....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear FWebster,
Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and indeed we are ideally located in the heart of Sligo. We have passed on your kind comments and thanks to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Wonderful stay at this hotel. Very clean and friendly. Stayed on the fifth floor with lovely views over the city and the surrounding hills. The restaurant was good with a varied menu and good wine list. A very nice Pinot Grigio. The breakfast was good and the bar meal snacks were also very good. The bar was well stocked with a variety of whiskies and especially good Guiness. Useful to have a car to drive up and down the coast which was quite beautiful. We would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWFCdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear SWFC Dave
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do have some great views from our higher floors. We are pleased to read you enjoyed both our restaurant menu and our bar menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and again would like to thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, rooms are a bit, used, but do the job. Took the upgrade to a balcony, however don't pay the extra unless it is summer time and warm. Not much you can do with it when wet and cold. The first night was good, the second night not. Take note that the hotel also hosts parties nd Ireland they go until half 1:00 (that is 1:30AM) so on the second floor there was too much noise, hen after he party all the loud party goes are trying to find their rooms and hollering at each other down the halls. Staff is great, however the Eric plugs they pass out don't work. I understand they are service two customers here, party goers, and businessmen. Next tie I will request a room on the 4th or 5th floor, maybe that will help. Excellent access to town and shops a well as underground parking.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear M t
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We would like to apologise for the noise problems you encountered on your second night, please do make us aware next time you are staying and we will accomodate your needs for a quiet room on a higher floor. We are delighted that you found our staff great and look forward to welcoming you back to the Glasshouse in the near future.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Five of us stayed here for two nights over St Patrick's weekend. The hotel is centrally situated with great views over the river and just a short walk to the shops and bars. Relatively newly built with some modern architecture and funky reception furniture.

The service from everyone in the hotel was friendly and efficient - from the breakfast staff that offered to cook our eggs fresh however we wanted them to the excellent barman who gave us hints and tips on where to go hiking on the Saturday. He even popped over to reception and printed off suggested walks from the internet around King's Mountain and Benbillbun - and that at 1.30am in the morning!

One word of warning - beware the weird, spiral-patterned, colourful carpets in the corridors leading to the bedrooms - probably best to keep your eyes shut if you've had a few pints of Guinness!

Great location, great staff, great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Richard J
Thank you for your recent review on you stay with us here at The Glasshouse. Our location is indeed fantastic for access to all the shops,restaurants & bars. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and efficient and we have passed on your comments to our staff. Again we would like to thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.

With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stay here regularly on business. Location is second to none with free undergound parking. Have stayed in each type of room at one point or another, each is well appointed. Absolutely spotless place and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful that I've even encountered. Breakfast buffet is incredible and bar food is second to none. Haven't yet eaten in 'the kitchen' restaurant but it's won awards. Flat screen internet equipped tv's in all rooms as well as laptop broadband ethernet cable. Back again next week and can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Stephen W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the perfect location in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted that you find our staff to be the friendliest and most helpful and that you enjoy our various menus. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a two night stay here in Feb. What a joy it was to be greeted and looked after by Irish
Front of House staff! . When checking in I asked if by any chance they had a room overlooking the river, and the receptionist checked and said Yes, there was one left! Fine room & comfortable bed. Tea, Coffee & bottled water supplied + usual toiletries. Really blown away with the breakfast. From the freshly cooked Full Irish, to Continental, the choice was great. Spoke to a waiter & barman about Sligo town and what we might see. They were extremely helpful. Enjoyed Soup in the Bar at lunchtime, and were looked after pleasantly and efficiently.
Look forward to return visit.

Room Tip: Try and get room overlooking river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Emer K,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff extremely helpful and efficient. We do pride ourselves on our choices available on the breakfast menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing