We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade appreciated.”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on Saturday 30th March. In fairness to the management teams promise, they gave us an upgrade to a Junior Suite. Now I have said before that the rooms in the front of the hotel are overlooking the waterfall on which any of the times we had these rooms have had bad nights sleep due to the noise of the waterfall. And I have said this to hotel before.
So I was a bit wary when I found the room was whilst a nice room with a lovely view of the town was over the waterfall. Thankfully the river was very full so the waterfall was barely audible.
The Junior Suite was very nice spacious and clean. There was a lovely welcome tray of cut up fruit when we entered the room. One of the perks of a Junior Suite I think. The tray of fruit was fresh and was thoroughly enjoyable.
The staff as usual were the best, very efficient and attentive.
I still prefer the rooms in the back of the hotel. But that's a personal preference.
We had breakfast next morning and was very pleased to see they had real weetabix and not a spurious brand. I take it that their cornflakes and other breakfast cereals were the real thing too.
I do have one gripe here though. I take fruit and nuts and seeds on my weetabix which were there in large jars. However, they had three spoons wedged into the the different jar lids. This made it impossible for me to open. So I had to do without. They would have been better leaving spoons out loose beside the jars.
Other than that our stay was short but enjoyable and we will no doubt return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinolaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear FinolaIreland
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your upgraded stay in one of our junior suites and that you found our staff once again very efficient & attentive. We will look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We are loving this hotel. It has the right combination: superb accommodation, friendly and efficient staff, good food and prices and right in the centre of Sligo. We can walk to all the main sites and short drives are excellent in this scenic part of Ireland. It's really a treat that will spoil us for other places as it sets a high mark in our recent travels.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a view of the river, which is pretty. They also have excellent rooms for handicap pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Paul B,
Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found the hotel to have the right combination from location, friendly & efficient staff to good food and prices. We are a modern hotel right in the heart of Sligo. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and again would like to thank you for your review.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend as part of an Anniversary gift and we absolutely fell in love with this hotel and the surroundings in Sligo. The hotel is very contemporary in design and style with excellent staff who are only happy to help with a warm welcoming smile. We stayed here for just the one night which was a very busy Saturday and the hotel was very busy and buzzing with life around the lounge, bar and restaurant. Once we got to our room, which was very impressively presented with ceiling to floor glass, we didn't hear any noise from the bustling lower floors or surrounding rooms. All we could hear in the background was the River Garavogue running under the bridge right outside our window (This was very relaxing).

The room was comfortably warm on arrival, tastefully decorated with lots of natural light showing off the large bed, seating area and the ice cold champagne which we had ordered ahead of our arrival. Although we did not have dinner in the Hotel, we did order a room service in the early hours of the morning when we returned from the town. We ordered two sandwiches and they were really full and fresh and just perfect for a late night snack!! The gentleman who brought it was also very pleasant.

We also had a Room Service breakfast which was extremely fresh and very generous and delivered right on time!! The staff really couldn't do enough for us and even stopped to suggest local attractions and to recommend the hotels facilities. We were absolutely raging that we had to check-out the next morning. We were contemplating staying for another few days but we had work on the Monday.

The staff in this hotel really deserve recognition for their great service with a smile. We can't wait to come back soon!

Room Tip: Pay Extra and get a Corner Room or Junior Suite. The views over the river are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Niall D
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at The Glasshouse. What a fantastic review, we are thrilled to read that you fell in love with the hotel and its surroundings. We have passed on your kind comments to our staff in relation to service with a smile. We would like to thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Glasshouse is very well located in town center. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and bright, the decor and furniture is contempory . It is easy to find. Underground car park makes it ideal location for shopping or business trip. We did have a problem with the internet which was sorted out for us. The bar area is nice and the outdoor seating area overlooking the river is very nice when sun in pleasant weather

Room Tip: Rooms are contempory in style and confortable, king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Paulstown,

Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a great location in the centre of town which can be fully appreciated in our outdoor seating area overlooking the river. We are delighted to read you found our staff friendly & helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights was amazing all round .clean cheap lovely breakfast and dinner great staff who were helpfully and friendly . Even put another bed into a double room free of charge when another person joined our party. Central to everything . Can't praise this place enough

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_shugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Mr_Shugs,
Thank you for your recent review in response to your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and friendly and that the hotel in general was amazing for you stay.We have passed your comments on to our staff. We look foward to a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great stay at this hotel. This was our first trip to Ireland and to Sligo. On arriving at Hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Had a lovely large room overlooking the town.
Breakfast was just brilliant as were the bar meals.
All staff were very friendly and helpful and have to give a speciial mention to Niall (one of the managment staff) - hats off - your doing a fantastic job.
Would love to stay there again - hopefully we will manage another trip to Ireland before too long.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Millie101
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you were made feel so welcome on your first trip to Sligo. We have passed on your kind comments to our staff especially Niall. We hope that you make a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay in this fabulous hotel in the centre of sligo. It is close to all amenities. We had a great view from the room. Buffet breakfast is incredible and bar food is great. The staff are very friendly and it is so refreshing!! I went to reception to ask for more tea/coffee for the room and I was barely in the door when the Manager turned with more!! Well done and thanks to all the staff.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear FWebster,
Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and indeed we are ideally located in the heart of Sligo. We have passed on your kind comments and thanks to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £75 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing