We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel in the centre of Sligo City”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel in the centre of Sligo City”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Reasonably priced hotel located in the centre of Sligo City beside pubs and restaurants. Excellent base to visit the beautiful beaches and local sites in Sligo. Newly built hotel with glass frontage overlooking the Garavogue River, restaurant and bar overlooks river also and very pleasing place to spend some time people watching. Underground car park (free) leads directly to reception. 24 hour room service as well as bar and restaurant. Staff very helpful particularly bar staff who delivered food to our room. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the food we ordered, it was overcooked and not good. Rooms are large and bright and decorated in a very quirky 70s style with a modern twist. Very Funky and fun. However, mattress could do with being replaced. Nice reasonably priced hotel to stay in if you want to be near everything in Sligo City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Tet1
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff very helpful. We do indeed have the perfect base for visiting the local attractions. We would like to thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    549
    257
    92
    72
See reviews for
155
871
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location. This hotel is in the heart of town. Food is ok. Maybe choice could be better and prices more reasonable. Resturant and hotel area is open throughout the day for food, coffee or other refreshments. Staff are helpful and friendly. A good landmark in Sligo and a pointer for meeting.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear James M
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a wonderful location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the night of the 21st Sept and there was a mix up with the rooms. Staff were right on it and were professional and friendly. Food was also lovely and great value and location is perfect for a night on the town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenehane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Lenehane123
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff to be professional and friendly and that you enjoyed your break here with us at The Glasshouse. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed two nights in this modern hotel. The underground carparking was included in the rate and lifts brought us right up to reception. The decor is quirky but not objectionable - I know its a matter of personal taste but to read some reviews gives the misleading impression that the colours and artwork are very bad indeed. this is not the case and we should be grateful that not all hotels go down the homogenous, boring "neutral palette" route. We had a spacious room on 4th floor with small balcony overlooking the river. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom well maintained and very clean.
we didn't eat dinner in the hotel as there are good restaurants just down the street. Breakfast was good and the staff in the dining room were lovely - especially Juanita ?- a
Polish lady. Just a small gripe- I phoned reception early one morning on discovering that there was no shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom. The response was that the receptionist would inform housekeeping "when they came in ". No word of apology and I heard nothing further. Later, the man with the housekeeping trolley immediately got me supplies when I asked him when i met him in the corridor.
Overall, we liked the location and comfort of the hotel and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emir08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear emir08
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found breakfast good and the staff lovely. We would like to apologise for the problem you encountered with reception. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and would once again like to thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, great food, nice rooms at a great price. The hotel is situated in the middle of the city, great car park located under the hotel, all it is missing was a pool. If you are thinking of going to Sligo whether it be business or pleasure I can highly recommend this hotel, for the price we paid 90 euro a room it was fantastic value. Breakfast was brilliant, with a choice of cooked or continental, the room were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We were a party of 8, visiting Sligo on a golfing trip, The Glasshouse was a fantastic centre

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Andrew A
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel excellent. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the centre of Sligo. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

A fabulous hotel with a huge angle on the building. Your room slopes outward. We had a green room. It was great . Very spacious and overlooking the river. Wavy patterned carpet throughout, and funky furniture in lobby. Great place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear judy61Melbourne
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be fabulous. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were booked here by our tour organiser and were extremely pleased, the rooms were large with a beautiful river view with comfortable beds, and clean, new bedding and carpets. Large bathrooms with included terry robes. Particularly nice electronics with excellent WiFi with room specific passwords and very good TV service for European standards.
Breakfast and other meals offered many choices and were of good quality. In addition it has a great location within walking distance of businesses and attractions. Parking was very convenient in the underground garage. By far the best hotel of this Irish vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Golfzilla
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a fantastic review, we are delighted to read that you found our hotel the best hotel of your Irish vacation. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing