We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Professional”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, reception staff are very efficient and friendly. We had dinner in the kitchen restaurant it was beautiful. Staff are very professional. We had a very friendly waitress that made us feel right at home and very comfortable. Her name is Amanda.
Food is fabulous. Room service is prompt and on time. Beautiful rooms with wonderful views. Very funky and modern hotel suitable for young people. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Jen444

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. What a great review! We are delighted to read you found our staff very efficient & friendly and we will also pass on your kind comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here last night for a one night stay. Having stayed here a couple of times before I knew the hotel would be nice as it had been before. Hotel is in a great central location. Rooms lovely and spacious..........but the heat.....the heat in the rooms is unbearable, even after changing the temperature settings! I remember this from previous stays, hotel rooms are way too warm. This was start of November, I would hate to think what summer would be like. This resulted in me not having a great nights sleep, awake until 5.00am because of heat. Breakfast was lovely. A lovely hotel but you guys need to sort out the heat in the rooms!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babes-Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Babes - Ire
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic central location. In relation to the problem you encountered with heat we are delighted to inform you that we are currently installing air conditioning in our bedrooms. If you make us aware of your next stay we should be able to accomodate you with an airconditioned room. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Glasshouse enjoys probably the best location of all the sligo hotels. It sits overlooking the beautiful river - the Garavogue - that winds it's way through sligo.

Try and secure one of the rooms that enjoy the great views over the river - you will be pleased you did.

The rooms are spacious, well appointed and tastefully decorated in a light hearted funky modern retro style.

The hotel staff are very helpful and genuinely pleased to welcome guests - with the warmth of all of the sligo people you will meet. I cannot wait to return again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Gez M
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the best location in the heart of the town centre overlooking the Garavougue. We are delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and welcoming. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is excellent - location, rooms, food, staff and car park. I can't understand the comments from a previous reviewer who stated that Sligo is a very run down town - it is the opposite of this and still retains its old town charm with lots of independent shops and lovely pubs and it has a lively atmosphere and great music. The only drawback is still the garish carpet in the corridors and the bed rooms

Room Tip: A high floor has less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear ArdMhacha

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you find our hotel excellent and that you agree Sligo still holds its old town charm. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is centrally located and you can walk to many restaurants. The check in was efficient and friendly. The rooms were large and modern. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. They do have wifi in the room that you need to access thru the television.

Very comfortable overall stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Eldelil
Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you had very comfortable stay and you found check in efficient and friendly. We do indeed have a fantastic central location beside all bars, restaurants & shops. We would once again like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed with my friends in this hotel for one night during the bank holiday.I really looked forward to see this property because we have never been in Sligo before.My girlfriend booked the room and we celebrated her sister`s birthday.We also left a message if they can prepare a nice little surprise or amenity but she did not get anything...This was a bit disappointing but we will survive it.Anyway the Lady at the front desk welcomed us very warmly and with great manner. She also explained where we can go out in the city but my friends and me felt exhausted so we decided to go to the hotel restaurant./ The Kitchen /
Alan greeted and seated us.He gave us the bar and the restaurant menu.The restaurant was cold.The waitress came to take our food and drink order.She was absolutely unfriendly,did not even smile and did not make any effort to make our evening better.
The timeless of the starter was great,presentation of the food was also ok .But our waiterss never came back to us if we are enjoying our starter or if we want to have anything. She cleared the starter and we got the main in a few minutes too.I saw another middle age gentleman in suit.I assumed he was the supervisor or manager , but never visited our table.Did not even say hello..
After the main course Andrea took over our table.The third server during the meal.Absolutely not professional in the restaurant business..But Andrea was really nice and thoughtful.
Overall experience was only average and just because of the food.Not for the service...Not at all.Nobody cleared our empty glasses and bottles from the table..Which is actually poor.
The rooms and the property are well designed and clean.The attitude of the receptionists are great.It was a good stay but not the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Charlie B
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our receptionists had great attitudes and that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are disappointed to read about your experience in our restaurant and would like to apologise and assure you that these matters have been addressed. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel and can highly recommend. The location is perfect as you are in the centre and it is also by the river. Lovely room and good breakfast. Lots of cafes and restaurants all within walking distance. Would return as we also loved Sligo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Honbun
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our location perfect and that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Glasshouse. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo F91 PXA7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: £60 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing