We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel,location,food and staff!”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel,location,food and staff!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just back from a two night stay in the Glasshouse. This was my second stay at the hotel. The bar food and restaurant food are excellent. Both menus cater for vegetarians and I have special dietary requirements (vegan) and was still able to order from the bar food menu and the restaurant staff were very obliging to arrange a couple of changes to the restaurant menu to cater for me. All staff were professional, friendly and engaging. The rooms are perfect and if you get a river view room it just adds to the overall likeability of the hotel. The television carries a personalised welcome message for guests and the internet was available free on the telly with wifi for laptops etc. also free in rooms.
The hotel is in the centre of town with everything within walking distance. If you do require a taxi the reception will call one for you but there is also a taxi rank around the corner! I highly recommend this hotel. The only problem I had was that the room was cold and I also found the seats at the window in the bar and restaurant cold but I would imagine this is because the building consist of so much glass, the hint is in the name!!!! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear absolutetruth
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff professional,friendly & engaging. We do indeed have a great location right in the town centre. We would like to once again thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    540
    254
    90
    70
See reviews for
154
849
66
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we had a beautiful room with an amazing view, great hospitality and service from the hotel staff, delicious breakfast, right on the center of town, great bars across the street, free parking and free WiFi. very much recommended, THE PERFECT place to stay-in in Sligo!
we cant wait to come back!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vital d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear vital d
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a fantastic review! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff and service great. We do have a great location and The Glasshouse is the perfect place to stay in Sligo. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were a group of 20 who stayed in Sligo town for the International Choral Festival. This hotel was in a perfect location with terrific views of the stunning Garavogue river. The hotel was extremely busy this weekend as there were other choir bookings and parties going on but the staff were friendly and attentive and extremely efficient so no-one was left wanting. We had dinner in the hotel one night which was really good and great value @ €25. The breakfasts were excellent with everything from healthy to full-Irish to choose from. The entertainment in the bar on the Sat night was super (we didn't catch the singer's name but he sang Dean Martin/Frank Sinatra++ numbers and we were up hoppin' all night!). Some of our group were lucky enough to have views of the raging river from their hotel rooms so ask for this when making a reservation. The hotel was spotless, the decor modern and fun, its location handy to the charming and lively town of Sligo and to its wonderful restaurants and bars along the river. The warm and friendly staff were first rate and we would not hesitate to recommend this great hotel to others.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the raging Garavogue river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear OrlaCait

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you found are staff friendly,attentive, efficient & first class and that you enjoyed your stay and also the entertainment provided. We do have a great location right in the heart of Sligo close to all bars & restaurants. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay in The Glasshouse. Amazing Hotel. The rooms were spotless, and decorated in a contemporary style, which was so refreshing, compared to tired decor in many other Hotels. Fabulous view from the room, looking down on to the Garavoge River.
The Staff are extremely professional and pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. Every whim is catered for. The food in The Cafe Bar is excellent. Great too for access to local amenities, all within walking distance. I would highly recommend that if anyone has a visit to Sligo in mind that this would be the place to go and stay. I will certainly be returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieoneIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear blondieoneIreland

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff to be professional & pleasant and that you enjoyed our fantastic views of the Garavogue. We do indeed have a great location right in the centre of Sligo. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights B&B and must say I would highly recommend this hotel to couples. It is clean, fresh and funky! The Glasshouse has an excellent location with the town on your doorstep. Great for nights out to local restaurants and pubs. No need for a taxi at all.
I turned the temp down in our room and it seemed to work. I prefer a cooler room to sleep in at night.
Breakfast was a very good average with the usual cooked breakfast fare on offer. Nothing spectacular but well done for what you get.
Would be delighted to return to The Glasshouse Hotel in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missellie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Missellie69

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have an excellent location right in the heart of Sligo close to all shops,bars & restaurants. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, reception staff are very efficient and friendly. We had dinner in the kitchen restaurant it was beautiful. Staff are very professional. We had a very friendly waitress that made us feel right at home and very comfortable. Her name is Amanda.
Food is fabulous. Room service is prompt and on time. Beautiful rooms with wonderful views. Very funky and modern hotel suitable for young people. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jen444

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. What a great review! We are delighted to read you found our staff very efficient & friendly and we will also pass on your kind comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here last night for a one night stay. Having stayed here a couple of times before I knew the hotel would be nice as it had been before. Hotel is in a great central location. Rooms lovely and spacious..........but the heat.....the heat in the rooms is unbearable, even after changing the temperature settings! I remember this from previous stays, hotel rooms are way too warm. This was start of November, I would hate to think what summer would be like. This resulted in me not having a great nights sleep, awake until 5.00am because of heat. Breakfast was lovely. A lovely hotel but you guys need to sort out the heat in the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babes-Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Babes - Ire
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic central location. In relation to the problem you encountered with heat we are delighted to inform you that we are currently installing air conditioning in our bedrooms. If you make us aware of your next stay we should be able to accomodate you with an airconditioned room. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing