We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel very clean and modern. We stayed here in Feb for 3 nights B&B and 1 evening meal, The food was excellent and the menus had a great selection to choose from. This hotel is in a great location with all bars, shops, cinema, resturants nearby and within a short distance to the beaches of Rosses Point and Strandhill. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. . I stayed here as a couple but next time we will return with our family because this hotel is ideal for everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was over looking the river and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Denis189
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do have a fantastic location right in the heart of Sligo close to bars, restaurants & shops. We are delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly & welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    540
    254
    90
    71
See reviews for
154
849
66
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel, staff very friendly and professional. When we entered our retro room the heat was on and lights, very welcoming :-) there was a lovely manager in the resturant, never got her name but small asian women, very hospitable. Definitley returning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millystewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Millystewy
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you highly recommend our hotel and that you found our staff friendly & professional. We have passed on your kind comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I organised a hen party weekend for my sisters hen & from the start the hotel was very accommodating and all throughout our stay. They didn't treat us any different the fact they was 15 of us on a hen! The rooms were fab, food was beautiful and quick, the staff were very friendly even though we're very busy at dinner! I would highly recommend this hotel for a hen party or any stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lor_C_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Lor_C_11
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a great review! We are delighted to read that you found the rooms fab & the staff very friendly. We are delighted that you enjoyed your hen weekend and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Great location right in town. Friendly staff which couldn't have been more helpful.
Lovely rooms, funky and bright.
We didn't eat here but had a drink at the bar which had a good atmosphere.
Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sharhys
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly & helpful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice friendly staff but misinformed us of an offer that was on. Food was nothing special and was overpriced. I had bruchetta which was very disappointing. Clean impressive interior and good location with well kept bathrooms. Have to say I was quite chilly sitting having my meal in the bar area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Triona94
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Triona94
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly but are very disappointed to read that you found our food over priced as we value our quality of food. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact one of our managers if you would like to discuss the matter any further.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

first time in sligo town & first time in the glasshouse. v impressed with both. we were staying on a stag do. the location was ideal. breakfast was excellent. rooms had internet tvs which was a real bonus. only slight reservation was that the lifts were extremely slow. will deff return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymackenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Garymackenna
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We found this nice hotel while on a return journey home from a trip further north. The hotel is beautiful and very centrally located with an underground car park. Thanks to the lady at reception for her excellent directions - it was a wet evening and we were unfamiliar with the town.

Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious, with a lovely view, we were on the 6th floor. Wi-Fi was available in the bedroom.

On a negative side there was a meal/drinks deal in the bar (perhaps in the dining room as well, I don’t know) which we were unaware of until we ordered dinner. Prior to having dinner we had drinks in the bar and therefore didn’t want further drinks with dinner. We were disappointed that we couldn’t avail of the offer. After dinner I queried it with the gentleman at reception and he informed me that there were notices all over the hotel – surely this information could be relayed at check in. When guests arrive sometimes tired, these offers aren’t always obvious – they were very obvious once we were told about. Thankfully it’s not the end of the world but for me the meal deal is still on my mind.

The bar food was nice, staff were pleasant and breakfast was lovely with a river view.

I would recommend the hotel – just watch out for the offers.

Room Tip: Top floor offer's a great view. If you like the river ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear holidays57
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our colourful rooms. We would like to apologise for you missing out on the meal deal which is available in the bar. We have addressed this matter and now have the meal deal offers on the check in desks and staff now inform guests on check in about the meal deal. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing